By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
8.8
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

グランツーリスモ 5

Developer

Polyphony Digital

Genre

Racing

Release Dates

11/24/10 Sony Computer Entertainment
11/25/10 Sony Computer Entertainment
11/24/10 Sony Computer Entertainment

Community Stats

Owners: 576
Favorite: 70
Tracked: 52
Wishlist: 172
Now Playing: 61
 
8.5

Avg Community Rating:

 

Gran Turismo 5 (PS3) > Opinions (1368)

 1  2  3  4  14 
atma998 posted 02/04/2021, 03:29
10 years later, I'm coming here and yup, I was right when I was saying the franchise was on a downward trend.

GT6 did 5.22M and GTS did an awful 3.77M.
Message | Report
VXIII posted 17/12/2015, 06:31
True. What a monster. I predicted 10.5M back in days. GT5 pretty much exceeded everyone's expectations at this point.
Message | Report
VXIII posted 16/12/2015, 06:54
"GT5 total just shy of 12 million units (11.94). This pushes the 2010 title into second place within the franchise, second only to GT3’s massive 14.89 million"

https://www.gtplanet.net/gt6-sales-total-4-71-million-franchise-over-76-million-units/
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 07/01/2015, 06:51
The last shipped data is 10.66m as of Mar 2013. Yeap I believe the shipment is at least close to 12 million right now.

If VGC is undertracking it then it is really a little amount... 11 million max like CGI said.
Message | Report
Kerotan posted 07/01/2015, 03:40
@CGI GT5 sold pretty well the prologue sales for it were excellent too. Can you PM me the info regarding why you think Polyphony will update their numbers soon?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 06/01/2015, 06:02
Thanks
Message | Report
TruckOSaurus posted 06/01/2015, 12:57
@CGI-Quality & atma998: If you guys want to continue this conversation, take it to a PM (and stay civil to each other). I don't want to see any more posts about this argument on this wall.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 05/01/2015, 10:18
@CGI

Great! Next time please tell me from the beginning that you won't change your opinion whatever the facts I can bring up. This will save us both time.
Message | Report
TrevDaRev posted 05/01/2015, 02:24
@CGI-Quality: Where did you hear about Polyphony updating their site?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 04/01/2015, 11:17
And you dare blaming me of being condescending. Dude, you're the one here who is aggressive. What a joke.

Listen, I brought up so many arguments showing the franchise is on a downhill. You are asking why are we using GT6 numbers to determine if the franchise is growing or going down, really??? As if it is GT6 is not part of the franchise. I even gave you examples of declining franchises and how a statistical trend is working but you REFUSE to heard them.

And one last thing about your obsession on my previous prediction, I predicted 9 million unless bundled, the game has been bundled and did manage to reach 10.5M. If that's what you called being ''100% wrong'' then good for you my friend. Whatever makes you sleep better at night.

The franchise is on a downhill based on the numbers of GT4, 5 and 6. That's not an opinion, that's a statistical fact and I don't even want to argue with you on this. Will GT7 reverse this trend? Maybe, maybe not. The thing is we don't need to wait for GT7 before confirming this as of now as we don't need to wait until the next Call of Duty game or Pro Evolution Soccer game to confirm that these franchises are also on a downhill. Got it? Now can we just closed out this discussion once and for all?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 04/01/2015, 06:18
What the use to give you examples if you don't look at them...and based on your last comment you clearly proved that you don't know how a trend works. Even if GT7 sells 8 million, the average trend will still show a decrease, unless GT8 sell better than GT7. If this happens then the trend would have been reversed.

Honestly at this point you're just totally acting in bad faith. That's a shame. As for the prediction of what GT7 will sell, why don't you commit yourself first and give me yours Mr. I-Don't-Do-Predictions-Because-I-Don't-Want-to-Be-Proved-Wrong.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 04/01/2015, 05:23
You clearly don't know the concept of a trend. A trend is not reflected by a perfect straight line, there could be variations but in the end the line is going up or down, even a child can understand this (not an insult, just the reality).

Just take for example the Madden franchise (all platforms combined):

Madden 2009: 7.89M
Madden 2010: 7.52M
Madden 2011: 6.53M
Madden 2012: 5.45M
Madden 2013: 6.11M
Madden 2014: 4.99M
Maddden 2015: 4.54M (as of now)

You can clearly see a trend. The same goes for GT. GT7 will surely sell better than GT6 but it doesnt change the fact that as of now the trend shows a decrease in sales. No need to wait until GT7, to confirm that. That said, sometimes a trend can be reversed (see Mortal Kombat series). But as of now, we can clearly state that the Gran Turismo franchise is on a downhill. Maybe it's hard for you to admit it, but the numbers speak for themselves.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 04/01/2015, 05:17
My original prediction did not failed, the game WAS bundled. Also this prediction was based on the fact that the franchise was going down this is why I'm bringing GT6 sales into the topic even if you don't like that.

Really, you are arguing like a 10 yo child. You don't want me to bring GT6 sales but would like to wait for GT7 figures before conceding the franchise is on a downhill. This is ridiculous.

Gran Turismo 3 = 14.98M
Gran Turismo 4 = 11.66M
Gran Turismo 5 = 10.53M
Gran Turismo 6 = 3.03M

If you cannot see a trend there, there is no more to be said then.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 02/01/2015, 11:08
Yeah that's right, I predicted it would not reached 10M unless bundled and guess what...it was! :D

By the way, 10M is just a number for me but seems to be an obsession for you. Paying as much attention to a number is quite...disturbing to say the least. What's important is not the numbers, but what is the meaning of these numbers. GT5 numbers is showing a decrease in sales for the franchise and GT6 is confirming that. Sorry again for bursting your bubble.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 02/01/2015, 06:41
Then you should have ''ROFL'' at all the 15M+ and other best selling GT predictions we saw on this site. :)
Message | Report
atma998 posted 02/01/2015, 03:57
And to complete the circle:

lol
Message | Report
atma998 posted 31/12/2014, 10:14
GT4 did not have that much bundles, rereleases, special editions, promotions and discounts and still sold one million more (or 500k according to you). That said, GT5 needs to be compared to GT3, not 4. Your GT6 analysis is just empty (why selling so bad in comparison to GT2 and/or GT4?)

Anyway, we're just going round in circles.

You think that the franchise is going well while I think it is not.

At this point let's just agree to disagree.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 29/12/2014, 02:08
Like I said whether it is at 10.5 or 11M now does not change my point.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 19/12/2014, 03:20
The fact that GT5 did not manage to outsell its counterparts despite all the bundles, rereleases and special editions reveals something about the strength of the franchise. GT6 numbers is just confirming that trend, like it or not.

And stop calling the sales being undertracked, at that point I don't think 500k more copies sold would make such a difference in the analysis.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 15/12/2014, 03:57
@CGI-Quality

GT5 was the first iteration of the series on a new generation of console therefore you have to compare it with GT and GT3. GT6 on the other hand can be compared with GT2 and GT4. That said, both GT5 and GT6 failed in outselling their counterparts. Based on GT5 and GT6 sales we can easily see the franchise is going down. Maybe GT7 will reverse this trend, who knows?

I don't see the point in waiting for GT7 (or GT8 while you're at it) numbers before ''conceding'' the sales dropped in comparison to GT games of previous generations.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 13/12/2014, 06:34
@CGI-Quality

Let's make it clear, I only care about the sales, this site's main focus is on video game sales and this page is not a fan page, but a page to share our thoughts about the sales.

What speaks for itself is the fact that you'e calling out my prediction while you ignore the ridiculously high ones made by others. When speaking about GT6 which is part of the series, last I heard, you're saying this is irrelevent and off topic as if we can only speak of the game and not the franchise.

When I predicted the game would not reach 10 million, my main argument was that the franchise was on a downhill. The game barely reached 10 million and I was wrong in my prediction but my main argument is still true. The franchise is going done, bottom line.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 05/12/2014, 08:46
@CGI-Quality

You're pointing out my prediction but don't talk about all the ones who predicted this game to be the best selling GT game ever. A lot of them even predicted 15 million sales.

And GT6 is just proving my point, this franchise is going down, not the other way around.

And unlike you I don't need to make my presence important here.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 30/11/2014, 09:16
@CGI-Quality

I'm laughing because of all those undertrackers. I had that feeling of being back in 2010.

As for the predictions, what was yours on GT6 again?

That's why I am ''lol''ing.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 17/09/2014, 03:06
lol
Message | Report
Groundking posted 26/08/2014, 05:04
Why on earth has this been adjusted down FFS? I mean come on, we had shipment figures of 10.66M as of March 2013 directly from PD, with where the shipments went to (for Asia, Japan, NA and Europe). There's no way in hell that GT5 has 270k+ on shelves for more than a year. They were right before when it was 10.8m.

Europe needs adjusting massively.
Message | Report
Kongfucius posted 15/07/2014, 05:19
Actually shit, forgot GT6 :( (and GT2 actually, which I found a little surprising)
Message | Report
Kongfucius posted 15/07/2014, 05:17
60k till it beats the original, and stops being the lowest full numbered entry in the series
Message | Report
polo posted 11/04/2014, 10:53
http://www.burbagssale2013.com/ Burberry Outlet
http://www.cheaphollistersale.co.uk/ Cheap Hollister Clothes
http://www.coachblackfriday2014.com/ Coach Black Friday
http://www.coach-storeoutletonline.com/ Coach Black Friday 2013
http://www.coachcoachoutlet.com/ Coach Cyber Monday
http://www.coachxfactory.com/ Coach Factory
http://www.coach-factoryoutletonline.net/ Coach Outlet Factory
http://www.coach-outletusa.com/ Coach Outlet USA
http://www.coach-pursesfactory.com/ Coach Purses Factory
http://www.coachpurseusa.com/ Coach Purses USA
http://www.coach-storeoutlet.com/ Coach Store Outlet
http://www.coachxpursesonsale.com/ Coach Purses On Sale
http://www.discountbeatsbydresale.com/ Monster Beats Outlet
http://www.louis-vuittonblackfriday.com/ Louis Vuitton Outlet
http://www.lv-guccishoesfactory.com/ Louis Vuitton Factory
http://www.marcjacobsonsale.com/ Marc Jacobs On Sale
http://www.mcmblackfriday.com/ MCM Outlet
http://www.mcmoutlet-jp.com/ MCM 店铺
http://www.michaelkorsmas.com/ Michael Kors Outlet
http://www.michaelkors.so/ Michael Kors Outlet
http://www.michaelkorsfactory-store.com/ Michael Kors Factory
http://www.michaelkorsoutletr.com/ Michael Kors Outlet
http://www.michael-korsfactoryonline.com/ Michael Kors Factory Online
http://www.newcoachfactory.com/ Coach Factory Outlet
http://www.north-faceoutletonlines.net/ North Face Outlet Online
http://www.polo-outletstore.com/ Polo Outlet Store
http://www.ralphlaurenuker.com/ Ralph Lauren UK
http://www.saclongchamppairs.com/ Sac Longchamp Pairs
http://www.tcoachoutletonline.com/ Coach Outlet Online
http://www.the-coachfactoryoutlet.com/ Coach Factory Oultet
http://www.uggaustralia.cc/ Ugg Australia
http://www.barbour-jacketsoutlet.com/ Barbour Jackets Outlet Online
http://www.canada-gooser.com/ Canada Goose Outlet
http://www.guccishoes-factorys.net/ Gucci Outlet Online
http://www.michaelkors-states.com/ Michael Kors Outlet
http://www.moncler-clearance.com/ Moncler Clearance
http://www.moncler-jacketsoutletonline.com/ Moncler Jackets Outlet Online
http://www.northsclearance.com/ North Clearace Outlet
http://www.ralph-pololaurens.com/ Polo Ralph Lauren Outlet Online
http://www.woolrich-clearance.com/ Woolrich Clearance
http://www.cvshopfactory.com/ shop.coachfactory.com
http://www.mksfactoryoutlet.com/ Michael Kors Factory Outlet
http://www.zxcoachoutlet.com/ Coach Outlet Online USA
http://www.mischristmas.com/ Coach Factory Outlet Online
http://www.misblackfriday.com/ Black Friday
http://www.thebeatsbydre.com/ Beats by Dre
http://www.newoutletonlinemall.com/ Coach Purses Outlet Online
http://www.clickmichaelkors.com/ Michael Kors USA
http://www.cmichaelkorsoutlet.com/ Michael Kors Outlet USA
http://www.ralphlaurenepolo.com/ Ralph Lauren Polo
Message | Report
polo2014 posted 14/03/2014, 04:06
Gucci Outlet, http://www.gucci-shoesfactorys.com/
Polo Outlet Online, http://www.polo-outletstore.com/
Ralph Lauren UK, http://www.ralphlaurenuker.com/
Polo Lauren Ralph, http://www.ralphslaurenpolos.com/
Pas Cher Longchamp Sacs, http://www.saclongchamppairs.com/
Canada Goose Outlet, http://www.canadagooser.com/
Monster Headphones Outlet Online, http://www.discountbeatsbydresale.com/
Burberry Outlet, http://www.burbagssale2013.com/
North Face Jackets Outlet, http://www.north-faceoutletonlines.net/
Michael Kors Outlet, http://www.michaelkors.so/
Marc Jacobs Outlet Online, http://www.marcjacobsonsale.com/
Michael Kors Outlet Online, http://www.michaelkorstates.com/
Cheap Hollister UK Online, http://www.cheaphollistersale.co.uk/
North Clearance, http://www.northsclearance.com/
Coach Purses Outlet Online, http://www.coachxpursesonsale.com/
Coach Factory Online,http://www.coach-factoryy.com/
Coach Outlet Online, http://www.coach-outletusa.com/
http://ralphlaurenoutlet2014.jimdo.com/
Message | Report
atma998 posted 20/02/2014, 12:35
@mjk45

I don't think there was a really big difference between the number of GT3 bundles vs. GT5 bundles but if you know the numbers feel free to share it with us.
Message | Report
mjk45 posted 18/02/2014, 04:38
@atma the funny thing about your GT3 comparison is GT5 would have sold just as many if they bundled it to GT3's extent.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 26/01/2014, 05:41
@r3tr0gam3r1337 Sorry I didnt know this page was only for positive comments. Iol

@Kyuu Read one more time, ''DIDNT sell as terrible as I was expecting''.
GT5 sales are good, not great as it did not reached GT3 numbers (not even GT4) as so many of you predicted it would. It just didn't happen and it won't, live with it. I'm sorry if this is not a ''postitive comment'' but this is just the truth.

Now if you guys think GT6 sales are good, then good for you. FYI GT4 was also released late in the PS2 lifecycle and still managed to sell 11.66M. GT6 will be lucky to sell 1/2 of that.
Message | Report
r3tr0gam3r1337 posted 24/01/2014, 06:48
GT5 sells 11 million, GT6 sells 2 million and some how that's a terrible disappointment for a racing game ?, please stop with the rubbish, if you have nothing positive to say don't say anything at all but for the rest of us in the real world those ales numbers are fantastic especially being released after a major next gen console release "the PS4".
Message | Report
atma998 posted 14/01/2014, 10:56
@Kyuu

Please learn how to read. I said the game DIDNT sell as terrible as I was expecting back in 2010. If you absolutely want an example of what can be considered as terrible disappointment for a racing game in terms of sales, just take a look at GT6 numbers ;)
Message | Report
Groundking posted 30/11/2013, 02:58
Not sure I believe the numbers here tbh, whilst yeah there was the re-release last year I fail to see how the game has managed to be up YOY, at least not by the 23.8% shown here I think 2011 should be more closer to 2.15m units sold then 2.2m units sold in 2012. I also think that it's undertracked as shipment figures by March were 10.66m and meaning there would be roughly 350k on selves in March, leading into the slower months, which I fail to believe considering most retailers will be wanting to have sold through gt5 stock come the end of next week and I don't think it's beyond the reaches of imagination to think that there has been a further shipment of gt5 since march so I'm saying it's ~200k undertracked
Message | Report
atma998 posted 13/11/2013, 11:29
...and don't expect to see GT6 outselling this, unless it releases as a multiplatform game (PS3-PS4).
Message | Report
atma998 posted 13/11/2013, 11:22
@Alby

I was saying the game won't reach 10M and it barely did (now just over 10.5M mark). As CGI said they were people far worse than me like the one predicting 15M+ numbers.

That said, the game did not reach GT3 numbers (first GT of last gen), not even GT4, despite all the marketing, bundles, promotions, price cut, etc. But I have to admit it didnt sell as terrible as I was expecting during its first year of selling.
Message | Report
r3tr0gam3r1337 posted 23/08/2013, 05:24
GT5 has had a rebirth, the sales numbers keep climbing though i guess its mainly newcomers getting practise ready for GT6, i've only got 2 endurance races to go both being 24 hours but the rewards will be worth it, currently lvl 39 A spec and lvl 40 B spec.
Message | Report
Alby_da_Wolf posted 09/07/2013, 01:58
@CGI: LOL yes, here I was considering only this wall, almost forgetting the forums.
Message | Report
Alby_da_Wolf posted 02/07/2013, 02:34
@Colocho: I could be wrong, but the most active, almost obsessed, downplaying GT5 must have been atma998. LOL @ him
Message | Report
late_release posted 25/06/2013, 09:12
I suppose gt5 numbers for europe are very wrong. I bought it in 2010. And what's up with rest of the world over 5M? God forsake this laziness
Message | Report
WebMasterFlex posted 03/06/2013, 12:08
Gran Turismo's numbers
Message | Report
Colocho posted 31/05/2013, 05:35
Those #'s!! *-* bck in the day there was a dude blasting this wall claimin there was no chance GT would ever reach 10 mil... i wish I could remember who it was... i hope he is looking at these #'s!! Damm
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 20/05/2013, 03:52
Thanks after zillion "undertracked" comments made by my person... finally GT5 shows the sales it deserves.
Message | Report
r3tr0gam3r1337 posted 20/05/2013, 02:47
GT6 confirmed as a PS3 title, looks like the PS3 is far from the end of it's generation,
like Sony said from the start "the PS3 is a 10 year console", so far its been 7 years so there are still 3 more years to go.

oh the GT6 demo hits some time in june/july.
Message | Report
Mario_pana posted 18/05/2013, 03:22
GT6 = the next big thing before people jump on to PS4 and DriveClub.
End of 7th generation Sony has nailed it down for more PS3 games & PS4 games.

Sony all your first party developers are working so hard and making games all year long= PS3, PSV, PS4.
LONG LIVE THE PLAYSTATION! 😄
Message | Report
sniper989 posted 17/05/2013, 03:35
WOW those sales!
Now you gotta adjust GoW and Uncharted sales

Message | Report
Azhraell posted 17/05/2013, 09:02
Definitely this is THE exclusive of Sony
Message | Report
-girgosz- posted 16/05/2013, 06:57
3rd best selling PS3 game!!!
Message | Report
-girgosz- posted 16/05/2013, 06:51
10.42 million! Thats amazing!!!! Congrats! Still, GT 6 seems like GT5+. I just don't get it. It looks exactly like 5.
Message | Report
Deyon posted 16/05/2013, 05:51
Over 10m in 2+ years? Color me impressed..
Message | Report
Alby_da_Wolf posted 16/05/2013, 04:18
Impressive.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 15/05/2013, 05:44
10.66 million shipped as of March 2013... It is official.
Message | Report
crazepharmacist posted 15/05/2013, 04:21
GT5 sold over 10 million according to the PD 15th anniversary press conference today.
Message | Report
enditall727 posted 13/05/2013, 07:26
800k in japan. Gt5 might just be able to break the 1 mill barrier in japan like the others. I originally thought it wouldnt happen this time around but it actually has a chance
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/05/2013, 07:13
At this rate six more weeks to 9m in VGC.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 02/05/2013, 02:45
In Tools > Game Comparision you have all the numbers for all games.
Message | Report
Jaywood2010 posted 28/04/2013, 10:23
Can anybody tell me the weekly numbers for this game and how are you finding them?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 22/04/2013, 07:41
lol I really make a mistake... the event will happen in 7 weeks lol lol lol
Message | Report
sales2099 posted 22/04/2013, 03:22
lol ethomaz. You should be a wedding planner, cause you seem to love planning events that are weeks to years away :P
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 22/04/2013, 06:13
Next week... next week... next wekk... parrrrrrrrrty time!!!
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 17/04/2013, 06:36
8.90m next week
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/04/2013, 04:44
Party time in 7 weeks??? 9 million baby.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 07/04/2013, 09:41
Over 5 million sold in first year is "shaky"? Not mention the first year is just ONE MONTH.
Message | Report
Michael-5 posted 03/04/2013, 03:28
You have to admit though, for the first year or so it was looking shaky. This game didn't open big, and a lot of people are shocked that it's still appearing in the top 50 or so week after week. This game could have undersold GT2, but it didn't. There is still a chance that future GT games won't break 10 million either, I was looking at a screen from Sony's Press conference and they only expect the PS4 to outsell the PS3 by a bit (85-95 million units lifetime), and if they make 2 Gran Turismo games, there is still a chance it won't break 10 million.

However that's eons from now, lets just be happy about this.
Message | Report
Michael-5 posted 03/04/2013, 03:57
There is still a very small outside chance that GT5 doesn't break 10 million, but I doubt it. It sold about 1.5 million in 2012, and 300k in the first quarter of 2013. I think 2013 annual sales will probably cross 1 million, and then all it needs is 500k in 2014, which it will get. A lot of late PS3 buyers probably have GT5 on their lists.

I think it's safe to assume from now on that all new GT games (on consoles) will break 10 million.
Message | Report
Michael-5 posted 03/04/2013, 03:47
I've told you repeatedly, you kept mentioning that the PS4 is 10-15x as powerful as the PS3, when in reality it's about 8-10x more powerful. 15x is not the same as 9x, that's where you were wrong, but anyway....

GT5 did good, and I expect GT6 to do better being an early PS4 game (GT3 did amazing as an early title)
Message | Report
Michael-5 posted 02/04/2013, 02:41
I did admit I was wrong CGI-Quality, something you can't appear to do, as in our latest thread about PS4 specs. Honestly though, I'm surprised this game had such strong legs, and to be fair, if Sony released a GT6 on the PS3, GT5 would never have made it this far.
Message | Report
krazyb posted 17/02/2013, 02:12
After 2 years since release it still manages to make it into the top 30 what a beast.
Message | Report
r3tr0gam3r1337 posted 05/02/2013, 12:51
looks like North america have finally discovered GT5.

Message | Report
Normando posted 28/01/2013, 02:46
How is it even possible that this game is back in the top 30? Above some much much newer games even.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 18/01/2013, 03:54
Great 2013 sales... great overall sales.
Message | Report
r3tr0gam3r1337 posted 15/01/2013, 03:28
just look at GT5P from PD's numbers VG has undertracked it by over 1 million and it stopped shipping over 2 years ago.
Message | Report
KingHades posted 13/01/2013, 04:20
I still haven't bought my GT5 copy yet im buying two just for myself $20 each and new.
Message | Report
krazyb posted 12/01/2013, 08:18
Has this been adjusted down? I could have sworn i saw it at 8.69 last week.
Message | Report
Mr Puggsly posted 11/01/2013, 07:23
I don't know if this can do 10 million with GT6 coming... potentially this decade.
Message | Report
killerzX posted 05/01/2013, 06:53
we also know the uncharted franchise is undertracked. in april ND released sales numbers. there was a 3 million difference between ND numbers and VGC numbers. 3 million! ND said the shipped 17.3 million uncharted games (i dont know if this includes Uncharted golden abyss, if it doesnt then VGchartz had like 3.5 million less than Naughty dogs numbers). currently Vgchartz has sales for the Uncharted franchise (including Golden Abyss) at 17.15 million, thats still .15 million less than official numbers released 8 months ago. if we exclude Golden Abyss, that 1.05 million less than official shipped numbers from 8 months ago. in both cases Vgchartz claims that Uncharted franchise still hasnt sold all of its shipments from April 2012, 8-9 months ago. So we know for a fact its undertracked, and if those number excluded Golden Abyss, we know that it is undertracked even more. hopefully ND releases more figures, so we can see where its really at.
Message | Report
A203D posted 26/12/2012, 11:33
God of War 3 and Gran Turismo are the only games we know about, is there not a possibility other games are under tracked as well?
Message | Report
postofficebuddy posted 25/12/2012, 04:25
VGC will have this at about 8.7 million by the end of the year. I wonder what Polyphony will show for shipments.
Message | Report
legendarysaiyanbroly posted 25/12/2012, 10:50
@sunof: they clearly just don't want to do it, even when it's well known for example, that GOW3 has sold over 5 mill. copies so far, and they have that game at 4.50

Message | Report
SunofKratos posted 24/12/2012, 08:30
Well there was a report last time on a game forum where Polyphony had Gran Turismo by over 9.3 M. I dont know why vg charts doesnt change the sales for games that are proofed to be undertracked.( Gran Turismo 5 and God of War 3). They have the official numbers now for several weeks ( Gran Turismo 5) and months ( God of War 3) and they didnt update it. Why? No time?
Message | Report
krazyb posted 24/12/2012, 12:25
So taking into consideration the under tracking, it should be over over 9 million right?

Message | Report
r3tr0gam3r1337 posted 13/12/2012, 07:50
make sure to get any of the logitech race wheels like the G25,G27 or the driving force GT to get the best experience from GT5, ethomaz is right there is no other game on the console's with gameplay that can rival GT5's physics, this is a must have game for the PS3.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 12/12/2012, 04:11
@Mario_pana There is not other game in the market with similar gameplay to GT5, GT5 is not a racing game... it's a racing simulator... and YES I think you need to buy this game
Message | Report
Mario_pana posted 12/12/2012, 05:07
There is something special about this game but the gameplay is okay for a racing game since I am not a car racing fan, BUT THE GRATHICS MAKE ME BE ATRACTED TO IT. 😊
Should I buy this game ?
Message | Report
killerzX posted 11/12/2012, 09:23
my guess for PD numbers at end of year: 9.8 million.
VGchartz numbers: 8.55 million.
it will be laughably undertracked.
Message | Report
Turkish posted 07/12/2012, 05:26
Next PDs official numbers will show 10m, or a very close number.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 02/12/2012, 01:46
Probably passed 9 million in retail sales without even being bundled. Wow it will probably pass Halo Reach by the end of the Year and possibly 11m by the end of the year...nice! And VGC either you guys are incredbily lazy...or you hate this game by not updating its numbers to the true amount
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 28/11/2012, 04:59
PD undertracked it in the first report for Sep 2012... the today (updated) report show GT5 shipped 9.19 million copies as Sep 2012... 180k copies more than the previous report.
Message | Report
r3tr0gam3r1337 posted 25/11/2012, 02:03
looks like things wont go in an argument situation, sales has recieved his warning
Message | Report
r3tr0gam3r1337 posted 23/11/2012, 08:01
if a game is rubbish it wont sell, metacritic is not the last word it just averages up review scores, let's not start a stupid argument as its been said already this wall is not littered with petty arguments so lets leave it clean and stop the arguments before they begin.
Message | Report
VGKing posted 23/11/2012, 04:28
@sales
Please don't start things. Mods also look at these walls you know.
Message | Report
sales2099 posted 23/11/2012, 03:50
Sold most, but not the best. Jus saying.
Message | Report
Turkish posted 16/11/2012, 08:59
Will sell 12 million in the end. Best race game of this gen.
Message | Report
Heavenly_King posted 11/11/2012, 04:22
Gran turismo is a BEAST!!! Hopefully in the next one they will have some "arcadish" mode so that I can not suck at it :)
Message | Report
r3tr0gam3r1337 posted 09/11/2012, 09:09
those stats are not shipped they are sold, if you look at VG's sales stats for the other GT games they all match up nearly exactly the same apart from GT1 which has sold more according to VG and GT5P which is also undertracked, either way as long as it keeps selling the way it does no doubt this will be yet another GT game to sell over 10 million, i think it might sell 10million before the ps4 is announced at E3 next year though i wont take bets on it lol.
Message | Report
Donutsticks posted 09/11/2012, 12:05
I just heard that walmart is going to have gt5 for sale for 10 dollars on black friday! I wonder how much that will boost sales?
Message | Report
SunofKratos posted 08/11/2012, 02:29
The 9 m are shipped numbers to retailers. But anyway undertracked byabout 500-600k units.
A year ago i have thinked this will get 10 M lifetime but i was wrong. Lifetîme sales will be more in the rnage of 11-12 M. By far the best selling Gran Turismo ( in fact the recovered the production values with the Prologue Edition alone)

Any bet Gran Turismo 6 will also have a prologue version at first.
Message | Report
r3tr0gam3r1337 posted 08/11/2012, 01:07
basically GT5 will easily hit 10 million sales by xmass as its already past 9 million, vgchartz has under tracked GT5's sales and i would not be surprised to find that so too has the ps3 console sales, its always selling more than the 360 in fat all year the 360's been lagging behind the ps3 so what's going on!
Message | Report
r3tr0gam3r1337 posted 06/11/2012, 10:59
lol looks like i was on the money a few weeks ago and yes that 9.010 figure is on PD's official sales chart.
Message | Report
 1   2   3   4   14 

Shipping Total

11,950,000 Units
As of: September 30th, 2017

Opinion (1368)

atma998 posted 02/04/2021, 03:29
10 years later, I'm coming here and yup, I was right when I was saying the franchise was on a downward trend.

GT6 did 5.22M and GTS did an awful 3.77M.
Message | Report
VXIII posted 17/12/2015, 06:31
True. What a monster. I predicted 10.5M back in days. GT5 pretty much exceeded everyone's expectations at this point.
Message | Report
VXIII posted 16/12/2015, 06:54
"GT5 total just shy of 12 million units (11.94). This pushes the 2010 title into second place within the franchise, second only to GT3’s massive 14.89 million"

https://www.gtplanet.net/gt6-sales-total-4-71-million-franchise-over-76-million-units/
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 07/01/2015, 06:51
The last shipped data is 10.66m as of Mar 2013. Yeap I believe the shipment is at least close to 12 million right now.

If VGC is undertracking it then it is really a little amount... 11 million max like CGI said.
Message | Report
Kerotan posted 07/01/2015, 03:40
@CGI GT5 sold pretty well the prologue sales for it were excellent too. Can you PM me the info regarding why you think Polyphony will update their numbers soon?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 06/01/2015, 06:02
Thanks
Message | Report
View all