By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
8.8
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

グランツーリスモ 5

Developer

Polyphony Digital

Genre

Racing

Release Dates

11/24/10 Sony Computer Entertainment
11/25/10 Sony Computer Entertainment
11/24/10 Sony Computer Entertainment

Community Stats

Owners: 576
Favorite: 70
Tracked: 52
Wishlist: 172
Now Playing: 61
 
8.5

Avg Community Rating:

 

Gran Turismo 5 (PS3) > Opinions (1368)

 1  2  3  4  5  14 
matrix posted 06/11/2012, 04:15
vgchartz time to adjust offical numbers are out !
Message | Report
jetalpha posted 06/11/2012, 10:50
vgchartz please update your numbers.Polyphony digital has just updated its numbers for the Gran Turismo 5 sales. the game now sold 9.010 million units .
go check it yourself : http://www.polyphony.co.jp/english/list.html
Message | Report
r3tr0gam3r1337 posted 05/11/2012, 10:15
still just under 2 months till x-mass which should see a boost in sales especially with the cheaper 12gb super slim ps3 and GT5 academy edition in the platinum price range, looks like another good year for PD.
Message | Report
Heavenly_King posted 27/10/2012, 07:02
10M is really possible by the end of the PS3 cycle.
Message | Report
krafty89 posted 26/10/2012, 01:58
Yey 8million! Although it probably had crossed it over a month ago.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 25/10/2012, 05:28
Nintendo showed GT5 seems undertracked in Europe byt a good margin (~200-300k).
Message | Report
SunofKratos posted 21/10/2012, 07:59
So m by next week. Nice. I remember when some guy said this will have a hard time to reach 5 millions. Never underestimate the power of playstation and Gran Turismo.
Message | Report
Santacruz posted 20/10/2012, 05:01
in week 100 it will pas 8m. Very nice!





Message | Report
r3tr0gam3r1337 posted 17/10/2012, 04:05
maybe i was a bit optimistic about the 9 million by xmass but certainly by the start of 2013 GT5 should reach at least 8.8 million, new PS3 super slim plus new bundles and the new academy edition which as far as i can tell has all the DLC released so far, what's to stop GT5 reaching 8.8 million.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 16/10/2012, 10:46
@Deidaraman weeks of the game on the market... this week is the 98... so can it reach 8 million in week 100???
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 16/10/2012, 10:45
@CGI I can just estimate using the same Shipped/VGC data from GT5... so GT4 shipped 8,790k at Dec 2006 so it crossed 8 million sales in that holiday... It was launched in Dec 2004 so almost 2 years after release.
Message | Report
postofficebuddy posted 14/10/2012, 02:41
@retrogamer 9 million is probably being a bit optimistic. Probably closer to 8.5-8.8. Still at this point 10 million is pretty much a certainty. As most others have been saying probably late 2013 or early 2014. I'm still sticking to my prediction of 12 million lifetime.
Message | Report
r3tr0gam3r1337 posted 13/10/2012, 05:38
maybe 9 million by xmass!

Message | Report
thehusbo posted 12/10/2012, 11:12
keeps on selling great. 8m in 2 weeks!
Message | Report
Deidaraman posted 12/10/2012, 09:04
whats the week 100 ethomaz ?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 12/10/2012, 08:03
It sold 33k this week so if it can sell more 30k in the next two weeks... anyway the Week 100 is to be close 8 million for sure.
Message | Report
kivi95 posted 12/10/2012, 03:12
I wonder if it can reach 8mil on it's 100week?


Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 07/10/2012, 12:59
the new academy edition is now in stores world wide so too is the new ps3 super slim, the timing of a new xmass bundle could not have been timed better.
Message | Report
thehusbo posted 03/10/2012, 09:34
amazing how this has sold considering its had virtually no bundles so far. 8.5million is easily reachable now it has a european bundle. nothing can touch the king of racers.
Message | Report
SunofKratos posted 23/09/2012, 12:35
Gran Turismo 5 is heading for a big holiday and so is Uncharted 3.

http://www.wog.ch/index.cfm/details/product/30175-Sony-PS3-Super-Slim-500-GB-Sony-Bundle-Sony
Message | Report
fauzman posted 21/09/2012, 12:01
I think a new gamepack for this just came out. Great to see such support over a year and half after release. Probably why numbers are still so good.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 20/09/2012, 11:40
oops sorry here is that link,

http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/2012/sep/19/ps3-super-slim-announced-sony?newsfeed=true
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 20/09/2012, 11:38
now Sony have another revised sku of the ps3 slim that is even slimmer than the current ps3 slim no doubt Sony will bundle GT5AE with it pushing sales past the 8.5 million mark easily, here is a link for anyone who did not know about this 'super slim' ps3.
Message | Report
SunofKratos posted 16/09/2012, 05:39
Well its selling like 20k each week without Academy Edition. So i think GRan Turismo 5 will habe big holiday this year putting total numbers above 8,5 M and maybe it can beat the 9 m this year, depends how much boost it get from the academy edition.
Message | Report
leatherhat posted 10/09/2012, 11:27
I would love to see this in some sort of holiday bundle to put it above 9 million for the year
Message | Report
SunofKratos posted 06/09/2012, 07:36
Yeah GT Academy shoul boost this thing a lot through Christmas.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 04/09/2012, 05:52
@SunofKratos it's flat... it's selling near 20k per week the whole year... the lowest week was in July with 13k... so no reason but I expect a good jump with GT Academy Edition this month.
Message | Report
SunofKratos posted 04/09/2012, 07:51
I need more popcorn. Those fanwares are better than watching a movie at home.

OMG Gran Turismo only need about 200 k units to hit the 8 million mark. Impressive.
Is there a reason that it sold 20 k this week?
Message | Report
TrevDaRev posted 03/09/2012, 11:39
You clearly don't have better things to do, or you would've stopped commenting a long time ago.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 31/08/2012, 02:07
sorry but i was all happy with leaving this well alone, this kid obviously wanted to cause an argument and got his wish even with being proven wrong.

and sorry for the haters but i didnt get banned even though thats exactly what you all wanted knowing full well the biggest majority of what i say is true, just like the kids on this site are much like or governments "they cant stand facing the truth and wish to silence any one doing so".

so again ill bid you all farewell as ive got better things to do with my time than waste it arguing with fanboys.
Message | Report
Donutsticks posted 30/08/2012, 03:12
you two are ruining a perfectly good comment board with your negative messages that doesn't even have anything to do with this game.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 29/08/2012, 10:42
@ganoncrotch sorry i did not realise i was talking to a retard with no intellect, now you can carry on resorting to piss poor excuses but that still doesnt change the fact that even with the graphics turned to minimum on the lowest resolution possible those junk store bought pc's still wouldnt hit 100fps, (who would actually build a gaming pc to run all the games on their lowest settings you moron).

now as you simply cant win your pathetic weak little argument and you also forget you said "most store bought junk gaming PCs would easily muster double that" meaning you was on about running with max settings not minimum you moron, cant win an argument so you try the old "at least i didnt have a swear fest bullshit" lol you lost plain and simple now deal with it kid.
Message | Report
Ganoncrotch posted 28/08/2012, 02:27
@Genera1MLD
you seem a little bit upset, but it's okie you see in the original post all you mentioned was fps, and all I mentioned was fps also. Now if you want to go into any other settings being used other than fps I would make the suggestion that you mention them before going off having a little swear fest to yourself, as mature and intellectual as that comes off when someone does it on the internet.

just a nice quote from you tho. You physically can't take that people disagree with your opinions tho.
"Genera1MLD (2 days ago)
sorry to say this but im dropping the banter on this site"

you can leave the sales speak for themselves, there is no accounting for good taste.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 27/08/2012, 04:35
@ganoncrotch go here tell the guys there what you said here about dirt 3 running on 7 year old hardware and that a crappy store bought gaming pc can do dirt 3 at 200fps @1920x1080 max settings, here is the link... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kujsIxKhl2w
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 25/08/2012, 11:38
@ganoncrotch clearly you know absolutely noting about PC gaming and Dirt 3.

Dirt 3 on the PC is optimized to run with DX11 textures i suggest you try running Dirt 3 on 7 year old PC hardware and embarrass you're self, most "store bought" systems will struggle to hit 60 fps let alone 100.

tell you what create a youtube channel and get a "crappy store bought" pc and run the dirt 3 benchmark with all settings set to ultra @ 1920x1080 then post a link here with the result (i know you wont cause i know you're talking shit as you know fuck all about PC's and PC games).
Message | Report
Ganoncrotch posted 25/08/2012, 06:35
Dirt 3 is a game optimized for 7 year old console hardware :> I wouldn't be trying to show off by stating you built a PC that you can flick the v-sync off and get just 100fps in this, most store bought junk gaming PCs would easily muster double that, never mind any actually properly put together system.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 25/08/2012, 03:43
sorry to say this but im dropping the banter on this site, ill just let the numbers speak for them self's while i play on forza 4, GT5 and my self build pc with dirt 3 @ 100 fps.
Message | Report
Ganoncrotch posted 25/08/2012, 06:14
Oh sorry I thought you were just disregarding everything other than just sales here? like the time gone into making sure the cars handle, look and sound like the real thing? or the quality of the tracks, graphics, reflections. Generally everything you would expect from a Racing simulator that you would find in the likes of Forza4 all disregarded by sales, it was my reasoning for saying that Mario Kart Wii is the Racing simulator of this generation. Even twice as good a simulator as Gran Turismo 3 on the ps2 even.

Going 100% by your standards of rating ofc genera1mld I would like to consider things such as, reality when it comes to what makes a game good. but just wouldn't mind your thoughts on that?
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 21/08/2012, 06:30
@ganoncrotch sorry pal i was on about console racing sims, mario kart is not a racing sim it is an arcade racer, a fun arcade racer at that which everyone should own however making a direct comparison to a racing sim is not a good idea nore is comparing it to forza as all the 360 fans will no doubt troll you like chris hu is doing to me lol "forza horizon is the spiritual successor to PGR" like fuck is it.
Message | Report
Ganoncrotch posted 20/08/2012, 02:23
@genera1mld
sales are all that matters in terms quality simulated racer? well then I commend Mario Kart wii on being the racing game of the generation. clearly 4 times the game that GT is.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 20/08/2012, 02:28
i only do it cause i know it agitates them so much it makes them constantly cry but the sheer fact that the whole metacritic score thing did nothing to boost sales,

i unfortunately bought forza 4 last october when it came out and the first week or so i played it non stop 'almost' however as the weeks went on so did the races and the games longetivity just vanished, having had it then for over a month i wanted to sell it but as sales for it were quite bad ok they were piss poor trade and cash prices just made it like i was practically giving it away for free, £60 payed plus 2400msp for the season pass that conveniently ran out before the Porsche pack was released for a further 1600msp.

ive seen forza 4 in supermarket bargain bins where usually you find small label not very well recieved/poor selling games, ive yet to see GT5 in any of these bargain bins.

i dont usually bash a game unless i feel like the developer has/is deliberately milking it with constant charged for DLC like a new car pack every month for 12 months for 560msp and additional car packs for 1600msp that should have been in the game from launch but couldn't cause of licencing issues.

gt5 is much better value than forza 4 and i dont know why no one can accept that,
ps im a PC guy.
Message | Report
Donutsticks posted 17/08/2012, 10:48
I agree with Pitzy272, why can't you keep the negative comments about certain other games to yourself? And for the record I to am a ps3 guy.

Message | Report
pitzy272 posted 17/08/2012, 05:18
@Genera1MLD
Dude, come on. Can you just praise GT without bashing Forza? You really do it quite a lot.

I'm not saying it's bad to be happy about its sales, or even its sales compared to Forza's - but some things you should just keep to yourself. It upsets people otherwise, and understandably. Same as if someone else bashed GT. Just sayin'. And for the record...I'm a ps3 guy.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 17/08/2012, 12:20
@pitzy272 they sure will, the Academy Edition will be available before xmass and no doubt will still be at platinum price plus the 360 has no racing sim this year (though forza is actually an arcade racer and a boring 1 at that) GT5 should peak past 8 million to 8.2 million by xmass and be january 2013 it should be close to 8.3 million.
Message | Report
pitzy272 posted 16/08/2012, 11:34
GT5 currently at #1 spot on Amazon. Wow. Huge price drop I guess, but still, it's almost a 2 yr old game. Hope the sales continue.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 16/08/2012, 03:31
so far this year GT5 has sold over 700k now compare that to forza 4's stunningly shite 300k, lol the game metacritic rated higher has poorer sales, from now on i think it'll be a wise idea not to mention metacritic score's other wise prepare to get burnt. GT5 FTW.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/08/2012, 10:30
GT5 sold over 1M only in UK... BEST SELLING GT IN UK EVER!!!
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 10/08/2012, 03:34
My prediction is ~11.5m in 2016/2017.
Message | Report
shanbcn posted 05/08/2012, 02:24
GT4 still sells even after all those years. So GT5 passing 10 million is a given, but can it pass 11 million?
Message | Report
SunofKratos posted 05/08/2012, 09:28
So with the Academy Edition anounced and the holidays upon us i think its a safe bet to say that Gran Turismo 5 will pass the 9 Million goal soon. 10 Million still possible depends when next gen starts and the next Gran Turismo Title release.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 01/08/2012, 06:11
@fauzman this week it sold 17,689... it not slowed
Message | Report
IEATBABIES posted 31/07/2012, 05:39
By September it should be at 8 million.
Message | Report
fauzman posted 27/07/2012, 10:17
This seems to have slowed down a lot in recent months. It may not reach 9M at this rate.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 26/07/2012, 07:05
Finally the re-release in Europe... welcome Academy Edition.
Message | Report
SOLIDSNAKE08 posted 25/07/2012, 03:09
how the hell did a racing game end up selling so much?
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 24/07/2012, 10:55
@crissindahouse is it cause you cant handle the truth, sorry pal but unless im flame baiting, trolling or generally being very offensive i cannot be reported unlucky.

Now time to face the truth GT5 got a lower score on metacritic however that's not what the industry bases it's score's on while forza 4 may have got a higher score it's the sales that does all the talking, forza 4 will need to sell over 5m more to overtake GT5 and you know quite simply that's just not going to happen.

now obviously yo cant handle the truth so all you can do rather than try to argue your case you would prefer to just ask people to report somone for having a solid well structured argumnet.

Face it GT5 wins end of argument
Message | Report
crissindahouse posted 11/07/2012, 06:34
@ cgi

great to give all these report tips but you gave general the tip who is freaking out most here. just look at his wall or the forza site 4. so maybe you should give people the tip to report general?
Message | Report
Ganoncrotch posted 11/07/2012, 08:34
@riku148 maybe if the roster wasn't filled with models from the ps1 and ps2 games it wouldn't be quite as large? I rather my games to have a standard lvl of graphics and detail across all the models.
Message | Report
Riku148 posted 10/07/2012, 08:53
I have now both GT5 and Forza 4 and i must say that GT5 wins because it has a much better and realistic handling, and more cars and tracks
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 06/07/2012, 06:49
lol its nice to know how easy it is to spot the mythical creatures, there all in denial ' what was that argument you were using a few years ago for 360 sales oh that it 'sales doesn't meant quality but it does equal the winner' so by using that logic GT5 wins END OF ARGUMENT.
Message | Report
Frozone posted 04/07/2012, 05:49
@General I can remain as cocky as I want as this site doesnt have IP banning I know that because id have been Ip banned months upon months ago yet I can still keep coming back. thats the difference between this site and proper gaming websites.

lol @ CGI being mad though.
Message | Report
crissindahouse posted 03/07/2012, 08:12
*where i want
Message | Report
crissindahouse posted 03/07/2012, 08:12
woah forza or gt i can look here i want that guy genera1mld won't stop posting the same s... everywhere. and if you click his name, you will see, even in his profile he doesn't stop with it^^
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 03/07/2012, 04:48
lol maybe they will ban your ip then lets see just how cocky you get then. by the way this topic is about gt5, neither halo killzone cod or what ever other game you care to mention has any relevance to GT5 at all, forza got mentioned as its the 360's answer to GT though its a poor mans GT.
Message | Report
Syndrome posted 02/07/2012, 03:56
No im still here, I always come back, only takes a minute.

@General I don't really care about Forza, let me guess you thought because of my comments on GT5 you assumed I must own a Xbox right, how cliche. If you wanna go that route though you could say no Killzone game has sold 3 million and not even half of Halo.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 30/06/2012, 12:42
lol did somone get banned for being a mythical creature, usually found under bridges beginning wht the letter T lmfao, understand the rules of the site buddy or GTFO PERMANENTLY.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 30/06/2012, 12:40
lol @ thats cheating though, forza is one of many 360 titles that gets heavily bundled especially in the run up to an during the holidays however even with heavy bundling no forza game to date has even managed to reach the lowest selling full retail GT game on PS1,PS2 or even PS3 (note full retail does not include any prologue or concept edition's or include the PSP version as there is no xbox handheld console), face the truth no forza game on the current gen xbox will ever sell 7 million let alone 10 million.
Message | Report
Syndrome posted 29/06/2012, 05:03
But thats cheating though.
Message | Report
thehusbo posted 27/06/2012, 09:02
@murray I reckon on its own steam gt5 will sell 9million+. It's still selling well each week. If bundled as much as forza is, it will have no problem reaching 10million.
Message | Report
The_Murray posted 27/06/2012, 11:44
Never said I was a great Sony fan either I said I owned a PS3, another reading comprehension fail. You on the other hand we both know is a GT fanboy so of course you need to rush to its rescue but no this games never selling 10 million.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 23/06/2012, 01:01
7.64 million in under 2 years lol name 1 forza game thats sold more than that, in fact name any other racer this gen thats sold more than that !
Message | Report
The_Murray posted 22/06/2012, 02:56
I knew it was never going to sell 10 million.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 16/06/2012, 07:59
sorry about the "achievement" joke lol but its 1 achievement the 360 will never have.
Message | Report
Turkish posted 15/06/2012, 03:57
With the total sales of GT5+GT5 Prologue retail and PSN sales are somewhere around 13 million already!
Message | Report
Turkish posted 15/06/2012, 03:56
This game will reach 10 million by the end of 2013 or early 2014.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 15/06/2012, 12:55
sorry jac0b but GT5 came out platinum last year but still continues to sell like it a new title released just a few months ago, forza fanboys can only dream of success like that and people like "sales2099" are still in denial.

just over 5 months have past when GT5 had sold 7.2 million, now its 7.6 million well done PD, 400k sold in 5 months on a game that came out 21 months ago i an achievement 360 gamers will never get lol, all forza 4 could get was 220k on a game that came out just 9 months ago.

good metacritic score = over rated game.
Message | Report
Jac0b posted 26/05/2012, 10:44
Great marketing by the way Sony, your biggest market EUROPE is the only region which hasn't got a re-release.
Message | Report
-girgosz- posted 21/05/2012, 05:35
Got a feeling it won't ;)
Message | Report
Jac0b posted 20/05/2012, 12:04
Got a feeling this is going to get stuck at 9m
Message | Report
SunofKratos posted 14/05/2012, 05:19
Another 25k. 8 million by years end is going to happen.Maybe even 8.5.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 05/05/2012, 05:10
its been a while since i commented but in january GT5 had sold around 7.25 million now its close to 7.5 million and yet the forza fanboys still insist forza will top 3 million by the end of the year, lol apart from living in a dream world that sales guy who always turns to metacritc when hes losing a battle he simply cant win, 160k forza 4 has sold in the last 4 months compared to GT5's 250k, for a game that came out a year earlier and still sell better than a new game just shows a 90% metacritic score doesnt mean shit.
Message | Report
Colocho posted 29/04/2012, 06:26
This game is a BEAST!! It just keeps on selling like hot cakes!!! at this rate, 10Mil seems possible!
Message | Report
shanbcn posted 29/04/2012, 12:08
LTD at the end of the year will be around 8.5m, so it may reach 10m by early 2014.
Message | Report
Heavenly_King posted 20/04/2012, 05:57
so far so good!! LTD 10-11M
Message | Report
Cold Light posted 18/04/2012, 01:58
Almost 7.5 million and counting, very nice! 8 million this holiday season?

Fantastic experience despite a few flaws. I wish I had more time to spend with this game.

Hope GT6 will see the light on the next generation system and PD will blow our minds again, best wishes to Yamauchi and his guys ;)
Message | Report
SunofKratos posted 16/04/2012, 09:23
Nah im too late for the party but i will hepl Gran Turismo 6 to be a 10 million seller on the PS4.
Message | Report
SnakeDrake posted 12/04/2012, 07:36
Come on people make this Sony's first PS3 exclusive to reach 10 mill
Message | Report
enditall727 posted 25/03/2012, 08:33
i think some people just don't want GT5 to hit 10 mill ;)
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 18/03/2012, 06:08
31,257 units this week.
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 14/03/2012, 08:54
Using the same decrease percentage for its yearly sales as prologue had , u can estimate sales over 1.0 million for gt5s 3rd year putting it well past 8 million by years end and that's assuming it's not bundled anymore than it was in 2011. Should pass gt2 in 2013/2014. And then the crawl to 10 million , gt4 is STILL doing ~100k+ a year. So I have no doubt gt5 will eventually hit 10 million but it would be nice if it got a euro bundle possibly with FIFA 12 for a 2012 holiday push.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 14/03/2012, 04:00
all i have to say is forza 3 combined with forza 4 and both still cannot top GT5's total sales lol, guess the only ones here saying its not that "Great" are the people suffering with CFS (console fanboy syndrome) :p
Message | Report
nen-suer posted 13/03/2012, 10:36
This is still doing great...i'm impressed!
Message | Report
atma998 posted 12/03/2012, 10:15
@ethomaz, read again my last comment and you will easily find out why these numbers cannot be considered ''great'', I think it was pretty well explained...or you can continue being blind again and understand only what you want to understand. Your choice!
Message | Report
SunofKratos posted 11/03/2012, 10:25
This game has awesome legs. I live in switzerland and all i can tell you is that this game never was heavenly bundled. It got a bundle on release year but that was all.
All other Gran Turismo games were heavenly bundled but not this one. All i can say is wow at the sales of this game. If this get to 10 million without much bundling than this is another proof that the Gran Turismo Brand is still very strong.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 11/03/2012, 08:39
lol 2 million on year is not great? 250k in two months is not great? New games not sell that.
Message | Report
Carl posted 11/03/2012, 03:57
Wonder if this Holiday will finally see it with a major bundle...
Message | Report
atma998 posted 10/03/2012, 10:36
@ethomaz 2 million on year 2 is not great, specially when the game has been launched in December the previous year and 250k in two months with all new editions and bundles is not great either. Speaking of eating crow, you're the one who predicted 15M lol. As for my prediction, you can find it on this page I predicted 8-8.5M and even mention 9M is possible.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 10/03/2012, 07:39
Sold 22,234 this week.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 10/03/2012, 07:33
@atma998 GT5 sold near 2 million last year... .this year it already 250k in two months... I expect 1.2-1.5 million in 2012... more 0.8-1.1 million in 2013... 10 million for sure in 2014... and most people here predicted GT5 to shell less than 7 million... it already made people like you eat crow.
Message | Report
VGKing posted 10/03/2012, 07:09
Should definitely reach 10mil within the next 2-3 years.
This is selling better than GTA IV in the same time period. GTA IV is already in at 9mil and will reach 10 sometime in 2013.
Message | Report
WebMasterFlex posted 10/03/2012, 09:12
PS3 games are long term sells. Look at LittleBigPlanet,, it's going 5 million, I remember many people said it won't reach 2. Same with U2 & U3 which will go 6 for U2 and 7 ofr U3
Message | Report
WebMasterFlex posted 10/03/2012, 09:08
"Honestly I don't see how it can reach 10M" I Can see it but it will take time. New PS3 buyers in Europe oftenly take GT5 with.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 09/03/2012, 10:34
GT5 did not even sold 500k in the past 4 or 5 months and this includes holiday sales, new spec II version, new XL edition and bundles in several european countries. Honestly I don't see how it can reach 10M. Sales tend to decrease with time not increase. I would be curious to hear about this...but please don't come with the heavy bundling scenario! lol
Message | Report
atma998 posted 09/03/2012, 10:22
@AnarchyWest I don't care about the game but about the sales. A lot of people predicted some crazy numbers in the past few years and now that they are proved wrong, it's interesting to come here and see what they are thinking now. Unfortunately most of them are still in delusion. Btw I own a PS2 and I'm also a PC gamer :)
Message | Report
WebMasterFlex posted 09/03/2012, 09:22
10 million in 2 years probably. PS3 still have 5 years to live I think. I wouldn't be surprise if GT6 come out on PS3.
Message | Report
AnarchyWest posted 09/03/2012, 01:14
atma998 as someone who is exclusive to nintendo why do you care so much about GT5 so much?
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 06/03/2012, 04:05
@ieatbabies you're talking a load of rubbish, drop the fanboy crap you're lowering the tone for people who appretiate quality (GT5).
maybe 1 day forza might have sales that equel GT's only that wont happen for another 3 years minimum, yep thats right no forza 5 in 2 years turn 10 are working on a different game.

anyway rather than turn this into a debate about forza 4 as no one really gives a shit about it cause it doesnt pose a threat to GT5's sales can we move on.
thank you.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 06/03/2012, 03:57
It was first ''GT5 will be the best selling GT ever'' and then ''it will reach at least 10 million'', then ''it will reach 10 million LT'' and now ''probably reach 10 million one day'' lol

@ethomaz Is this not precisely what is going wrong, the game is only selling ''good'' while bundled, not great as a main franchise like GT should do. How many 25k weeks to reach 10 million again?
Message | Report
IEATBABIES posted 06/03/2012, 03:44
Turn 10 fan boys can inflate their ego's all they want by saying

"Forza is the best franchise ever, PS3 sux Gran Turismo 5 is poo" etc etc.

Fact of the matter is, Gran Turismo has history on each generation of Sony made consoles. Microsoft fan boys can only wish Turn 10 had Polyphony's sales. never will happen. Even if Turn 10 started at the same time as Polyphony, it wouldn't matter. It's like Microsoft fan boys only bought this game just to brag and yet Forza Motorsport 4 hasn't even hit 2 million. If it was the biggest thing since the coming of Jesus Christ it would have double what Gran Turismo 5 has. I'm not a Sony fan boy, but I'm just typing the truth.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 05/03/2012, 03:15
25k this week... selling like first year of good games.
Message | Report
WebMasterFlex posted 05/03/2012, 08:41
lol that is all what you got ? Bundled in France ? GT always sell a lot. GT5 is doing the same, it will probably reach 10 million one day.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 03/03/2012, 12:00
Still bundled...
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 02/03/2012, 05:02
@atma998 I think the bundle is just for France.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 02/03/2012, 01:21
@dsage01 GT5 is currently bundled in Europe.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 26/02/2012, 03:29
Forza 4 might be able to do another 3 million but only with massive bundling just like how Forza 2, 3 and now Forza 4 are being bundled heavily. Really GT5 has hardly even being bundled and your comparing it to a game that only sells by being extensivley bundled? Even with the extensive bndling and large marketing Forza 4 won't be able to come near the GT franchise. There's a reason why it can still sell 30k a week without bundling.
Message | Report
WebMasterFlex posted 26/02/2012, 07:33
This game is going to do 10 million. Do not want to troll but Forza 4 can't even reach GT5 Prologue sells
Message | Report
Alby_da_Wolf posted 24/02/2012, 10:19
Ooops! I was quite late.
Message | Report
Alby_da_Wolf posted 24/02/2012, 12:18
Didn't anybody notice PD updated again its shipments numbers? GT5 is now 7.43M as of Dec 2011, previously, IIRC, it was 7.3M as of Sep 2011. So PD did some more shipments since then, and even though they surely shipped some more than necessary, as nobody sane would risk shortages for Xmas, shouldn't at least those previous 7.3M be all sold to end users by now?
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 19/02/2012, 11:20
i still think some people are stupid, isnt the right michael-5, just gotta love the comments you left on forza 4 eh "I think Forza 4 will get another 3 million sales, that should make the sales difference between 3 Forza's and 3 GT's almost nothing. Good observation, surprised for being a smaller name, Forza can still match GT in sales. Guess the quality difference got to people." and not forgetting "Compensating? and people say I write a lot.Forza 4 is still the best Sim this gen, sales =/= quality, and brand names are for fools." lmfao.
Message | Report
miqdadi posted 19/02/2012, 08:11
I still think 10M within reach, Just look at the prologue sales, the least this can do is 8M

Message | Report
Dahum posted 18/02/2012, 08:02
not to forget i didn't purchase my own copy yet which i will very soon;)
Message | Report
Dahum posted 18/02/2012, 08:00
this game is in another league of its own when it comes to the sales.... this game is so popular & has great legs and according to its sales pattern it will surpass 10 million copies and maybe reach 11 million considering the PS4 isn't coming anytime soon according to Sony which will give plenty of room for GT5 unlike GT4.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 17/02/2012, 01:56
@Michael... I already lost this battle
Message | Report
Michael-5 posted 17/02/2012, 01:46
Ocarina of Time got adjusted down 600k....how can you research the root cause, VGC staff aren't telling us anything......still going to loose our bet, 7 weeks of data left, 1.3 million to go!
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/02/2012, 12:13
@Ethomaz Don't know which version of all these games you have looked at but none of the ones I have looked got adjusted down by 100-300k. Also how can you verify this? Can you provide me links of adjustment of a game that has been adjusted for example?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/02/2012, 12:13
@Ethomaz Don't know which version of all these games you have looked at but none of the ones I have looked got adjusted down by 100-300k. Also how can you verify this? Can you provide me links of adjustment of a game that has been adjusted for example?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 15/02/2012, 10:55
@atma998 MW3, Skrym, Batman, FIFA, Zelda, Mario, etc... etc... almost all game has been adjusted... the TOP20 from last week is all adjusted down... If I'm not wrong just one game was adjusted UP.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 14/02/2012, 03:52
@ethomaz I looked more than 10 other big titles and no one got adjusted down... What do you mean by ''almost all games'' ? Which one got adjusted down?
Message | Report
Cold Light posted 13/02/2012, 07:57
Soon it will pass NFS: Underground (best seller of NFS franchise at 7.20 M) and become 9th best selling racing game of all time. Nice ;)

How much time will this game take to hit 8 M copies? About one year?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/02/2012, 12:18
@atma998 almost all games were adjusted 100-300k down this week... I thing that's some thing about the VGC algorithm for estimate the unknown countries sales... I'm still researching the root cause .
Message | Report
atma998 posted 11/02/2012, 01:45
Adjusted down by 90k by the way...
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 10/02/2012, 01:20
48k this week... really nice.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 09/02/2012, 03:12
@ethomaz

Probably with the new japanese Spec II version, european bundles and XL edition in NA.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 08/02/2012, 03:42
21k this week just in Japan... near 50k WW?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 07/02/2012, 10:26
@osamanobama

No, the utterly ridiculous one here is you since you're the one who does not get the fact that there was indeed hundreds of thousand units on shelves ready for Q4 sales. Now that the holidays are over there are still around 300k+ units on shelves which is also OK and yes overtracking is also possible unless you're too much of a fanboy to recognize it. That said, I was indeed right but I don't expect you or people like you to admit it anyway.
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 07/02/2012, 06:49
you realize this has been adjusted up recently, also no you were wrong, they shipped more after September. and you were claiming it was overtracked, utterly ridiculous.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 07/02/2012, 03:41
Seems I was right after all :)
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 06/02/2012, 01:54
Shipment update: http://gamrconnect.vgchartz.com/thread.php?id=139657 (7.43m by Dec 2011)
Message | Report
enditall727 posted 04/02/2012, 07:52
only 2,784,667 to go ;)
Message | Report
thehusbo posted 03/02/2012, 07:07
Amazing sales! Just keeps going along..
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 03/02/2012, 03:59
Over 30k this week (in January = EPIC)
Message | Report
Santacruz posted 31/01/2012, 05:44
new bundle in france include gran turismo 5 =)

http://www.amazon.fr/gp/product/B006WQPDAI/ref=s9_simh_gw_p63_d2_g63_i4?pf_rd_m=A1X6FK5RDHNB96&pf_rd_s=center-2&pf_rd_r=1K18JRH9MS6FRB3QEB9T&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=463375533&pf_rd_i=405320

maybe it get a small boost in france then :D
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 31/01/2012, 02:23
@Genera1MLD I'm playing the game... a lot... and the people here cares about GT5 like every other gamer except you .
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 30/01/2012, 09:08
i couldnt care less what position its in, just play the game rather than spending all your time here fighting fanboys.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 30/01/2012, 01:51
Again in almost every chart in Europe... 34th in UK.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 29/01/2012, 04:45
26k this week
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 26/01/2012, 08:25
I would expect 7.4 million by now. According to VGC we haven't even surpassed out first shipment (Europe) and now they decided to ship a couple hundred grand more copies? And this is data as of Spetember 2011 where the sales were still surfing at 6 million. So I think as of this date the sales should be:
Europe: 4.1 million (off track)
Japan: 600k + (on track)
North America: 1.8 million (on track)
Global: 7.4 million (Extra 900k for the rest of the world) *Overtracked by 250k*
I could be slightly off however I'm basing these on VGC, Media Crate, NPD, chart track and PD. It is severly undertracked in Germany, U.K. with the data we've got so far. More data will come soon.
Message | Report
Jansky8 posted 25/01/2012, 11:08
So ethomaz at how much would you estimate the globale sales?
Message | Report
Boutros posted 24/01/2012, 03:18
roflmao
Message | Report
Aj_habfan posted 24/01/2012, 12:33
Calm down now
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 24/01/2012, 12:24
GT5 sold more than 500k in Germany too... http://gamrconnect.vgchartz.com/thread.php?id=139114
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 24/01/2012, 12:08
Seems undertracked in UK... GFK shows it selling 200k+ in 2011... VGC shows 91k.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 24/01/2012, 12:03
New sales page... COOL!
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 23/01/2012, 06:30
The page sales changed... 1,800,512 in 2011.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 23/01/2012, 02:41
Again in TOP40 UK chartz.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 21/01/2012, 04:18
@Fufinu yes... the game is GT5.
Message | Report
Fufinu posted 21/01/2012, 12:29
Will XL be counted as the same as this?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 20/01/2012, 11:57
Sold 19k this week... next week XL Edition boost.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 20/01/2012, 05:33
@jester2358 because the Platinum Edition launched in Sep... I guess when the shipment of Platinum was sold the XL/Spec 2.0 Edition will come to Europe.
Message | Report
Serious_frusting posted 20/01/2012, 04:02
lol at people who said this game would sell 6-7 million
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 20/01/2012, 03:13
Dlc support for this game is impressive , and I can't see gt6 being released on ps3, a ps4 launch title is more likely. PD is likely working on a vita GT. ethomaz is right on the shipments for Xl the next PD software update will be slightly inflated due to them shipping out the new edition . No idea why they aren't doing one in Europe
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 19/01/2012, 04:19
The new Seasonal Events are the hardest ever... I have to try and use so many car and modifications to win the race.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 19/01/2012, 04:17
The Lamborghini Aventador is another most to have in the game now... I played more than 5 hours of GT5 today just because the update and DLCs.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 19/01/2012, 04:16
The new SpeedTest using the Route X is Absolutely AWESOME! And the regenerative braking and other features added to electric cars make it even more realistic... PD even increased the sound of the game.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 19/01/2012, 04:13
About he sales in NA... the PD shipped 1,830k til end of September... I think the release of the XL Edition just show us the 1.8m shipped is already sold... more 300-500k for XL Edition in NA in this quarter (end of March)... so 2.5m is easy. And GT5 just for PS4... PD is adding more features and simulations for GT5 in each update... so the GT5 is definitive for PS3.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 19/01/2012, 04:09
@CGI I think the XL Edition will be counted here because the Spec III for GT5:P was counted in GT5:P and the PD never counted these editions like a new game.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 18/01/2012, 12:40
@CGI USA sales are currently at 1.6M, there is no chance it reach 2.8M. The game is barely selling few thousands a week here in the US. Get real!
Message | Report
atma998 posted 17/01/2012, 10:05
@ethomaz No, it was really 7.126M. But anyway 13k or 17k isnt a big deal of a difference...and still pretty low sales. Hopefully XL edition is around the corner.
Message | Report
gipsy_jack posted 17/01/2012, 08:43
Sales are 0 k in Japan since many week. I can't believe this.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 17/01/2012, 02:19
GT5 sold 17k this week.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 17/01/2012, 02:19
@atma998... 7.126 is rounded to 7.13... after adjustments the number showed here was 7.12 or 7.122... befere that it was 7.128... sorry your numbers are off.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/01/2012, 11:00
@ethomaz I took the numbers AFTER the adjustment of last week = 7.126M, then VGC added last week numbers = 13k, which makes the total sales = 7.139M.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/01/2012, 11:00
@ethomaz I took the numbers AFTER the adjustment of last week = 7.126M, then VGC added last week numbers = 13k, which makes the total sales = 7.139M.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 16/01/2012, 12:54
The is adjusted down 6k before this week... the number was 1.22m.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 14/01/2012, 05:23
The game was at 7,126M after the adjustment of last week and is now at 7,139M. 7,139M - 7,126M = 13k...no?
Message | Report
John_Doe posted 14/01/2012, 10:42
lol 13k here is top 4 (biggest videogame store in spain) below MW3, hdmi cable and a headset http://www.game.es/
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 14/01/2012, 03:23
Anyway... where did you got that 13k???
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 14/01/2012, 03:22
@atma998 sold 17,989 last week or the week before XL Edition release... next week good sales again.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 13/01/2012, 10:14
Sold 13k last week.
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 13/01/2012, 02:11
still undertracked.... by a lot. just wait for PD to update their numbers
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/01/2012, 12:19
atma998 VGC overtracked 360 by 1 million in December... these numbers ans other for software are wrong... waiting more adjustments... even for GT5.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 12/01/2012, 11:28
but, but... it's impossible, this game cannot be overtracked!!! Now can we just calm down and trust VCG instead of stating each week it's undertracked. VGC know their stuff....better than all of us!
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 12/01/2012, 10:16
Yeap... down 6,689 in December.
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 12/01/2012, 04:52
this just got adjusted down?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 11/01/2012, 06:09
Guys... more content to GT5: http://gamrconnect.vgchartz.com/thread.php?id=138678
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 11/01/2012, 06:09
@jester2358 nothing for europe yet... anyway the Platinum editium is new there.
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 11/01/2012, 02:28
thanks for the info ethomaz, if it has the re5gold effect it might make gt5 pass 1 million in japan. any confirmation on a similar re-release in europe?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 10/01/2012, 11:45
@ethomaz you're right about the 6.62M (I diddnt know how to retrieve old sales data), however it doesnt change my point as 680k is also very plausible. As for the 1.3M, I don't think the adjustment was that big (1.3M - 680k = 620k) but anyway I don't get the point of bringing back this number (1.3M) as it does not make part of the calculation anymore.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 10/01/2012, 04:53
My mistake... the japanese version is set to release in 12th Febuary.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 10/01/2012, 04:53
@jester2358 the Spec II Japan version is confirmed to release in 20th January.
Message | Report
Heavenly_King posted 10/01/2012, 04:38
GO GT5!!! hopefully with XL edition by the end of the year, will reach 10M XD
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 09/01/2012, 10:34
Xl edition should give it a good boost, hopefully they release that edition in Europe and Japan as well . I wonder if it will do as well as re5s gold edition in Japan .
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 09/01/2012, 06:18
yes thnking this game is overtraked and not undertracked is stupid. you are right
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 09/01/2012, 01:23
@atma998... here: http://www.vgchartz.com/weekly/40818/Global/ and the GT5 was been adjusted in the last three weeks... before that when the PD numbers was updated the shipped/sold gap for End of Sep was 1.3m... today (after adjustments) is 680k... I'm not giving my opinion here just showing raw data (VGC and PD).
Message | Report
Ham_Burgular posted 09/01/2012, 12:51
Fifas European sales are much more impressive than this games.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 09/01/2012, 06:27
@osamanobama: We agree on this!
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 09/01/2012, 05:45
the stupidity in this thread is unbelievable
Message | Report
atma998 posted 09/01/2012, 03:28
@Ethomaz Where did you get your 6.62M? And where are you taking your 1.3M too?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 09/01/2012, 03:08
@atma998 a little help: 7.3m (PD) - 6.62m (VGC) = 680k... that's after adjustments... before the shipped/sold gag was 1.3m.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 08/01/2012, 06:06
Jeez, no one is talking about 1.3M!!! PD says they have shipped 7.3M as of September, at that time VGC tracked about 6.75M sold or so which means about 550k copies on shelves at that time, which makes sense, considering the franchise and the holiday boost just around the corner. The game may even be overtracked! Honestly you guys are just way too much! I never changed my line of thinking. I guess it's impossible to put some sense into you as you will always claim the game is undertracked no matter what... At least just stop pulling out numbers from a hat or talking about ''fact'' without any proof to back it up, that way you will all lmore credible!
Message | Report
 1   2   3   4   5   14 

Shipping Total

11,950,000 Units
As of: September 30th, 2017

Opinion (1368)

atma998 posted 02/04/2021, 03:29
10 years later, I'm coming here and yup, I was right when I was saying the franchise was on a downward trend.

GT6 did 5.22M and GTS did an awful 3.77M.
Message | Report
VXIII posted 17/12/2015, 06:31
True. What a monster. I predicted 10.5M back in days. GT5 pretty much exceeded everyone's expectations at this point.
Message | Report
VXIII posted 16/12/2015, 06:54
"GT5 total just shy of 12 million units (11.94). This pushes the 2010 title into second place within the franchise, second only to GT3’s massive 14.89 million"

https://www.gtplanet.net/gt6-sales-total-4-71-million-franchise-over-76-million-units/
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 07/01/2015, 06:51
The last shipped data is 10.66m as of Mar 2013. Yeap I believe the shipment is at least close to 12 million right now.

If VGC is undertracking it then it is really a little amount... 11 million max like CGI said.
Message | Report
Kerotan posted 07/01/2015, 03:40
@CGI GT5 sold pretty well the prologue sales for it were excellent too. Can you PM me the info regarding why you think Polyphony will update their numbers soon?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 06/01/2015, 06:02
Thanks
Message | Report
View all