By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
8.8
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

グランツーリスモ 5

Developer

Polyphony Digital

Genre

Racing

Release Dates

11/24/10 Sony Computer Entertainment
11/25/10 Sony Computer Entertainment
11/24/10 Sony Computer Entertainment

Community Stats

Owners: 576
Favorite: 70
Tracked: 52
Wishlist: 172
Now Playing: 61
 
8.5

Avg Community Rating:

 

Gran Turismo 5 (PS3) > Opinions (1575)

 1  13  14  15  16 
jester2358 posted 02/12/2010, 07:57
my estimate was 1.1 for emeaa, sooo close. still liking 2.1 WW FW
Message | Report
brazylianwisnia posted 02/12/2010, 07:31
better opening in emeaa than GT4
Message | Report
iWarMachine posted 02/12/2010, 07:05
pretty much expected sales.
Message | Report
Serious_frusting posted 02/12/2010, 07:01
Ok sales i guess
Message | Report
Vueguy posted 01/12/2010, 09:37
only sad because the standard cars didn't have cockpit view. i love cockpit view because it look realistic like you're in eth car driving. oh well, the premium cars are way better anyway.
Message | Report
Cross-X posted 01/12/2010, 11:21
I dont care what reviews say. GT5 is amazing
Message | Report
PullusPardus posted 01/12/2010, 03:09
i'm loving this way more than i should do, its taking away all my gaming time and non gaming time as well...
Message | Report
--OkeyDokey-- posted 30/11/2010, 12:27
Who would have thought, one of the most hyped games of the generation turns out to be one of the most underrated.
Message | Report
Jin_Shihouin posted 29/11/2010, 10:37
Must have title for basically every ps3 owner, racing fan or not. It's that good.
Message | Report
Skeeuk posted 29/11/2010, 10:03
really enjoying this
Message | Report
amsterdream posted 29/11/2010, 02:53
10M LTD
Message | Report
gustave154 posted 28/11/2010, 10:50
i got GT5!! can't wait to see how sales will be =)
Message | Report
droganmaster posted 28/11/2010, 03:17
Got one yesteday!
Message | Report
Kennyheart posted 27/11/2010, 08:54
Darth it's only a disappointment because it had so much hype.It's like ff13
Message | Report
Kai Master posted 27/11/2010, 04:39
Buzz index ended at 27k, less than AC3's 32k... but 1st week sales seem to favor GT5 : 2M+ versus 1,8M.
Message | Report
Vueguy posted 27/11/2010, 01:49
awesome game, no game is perfect so i will give it a 9/10. any game that score 7 out of 10 is a must own anyway.
Message | Report
laxdman4 posted 26/11/2010, 11:47
@darthdevidem I completly agree. This is a quality game that I will be playing for a long time.
Message | Report
darthdevidem01 posted 26/11/2010, 07:52
It is a pity the gaming media have branded this as a disappointment....stupid review system.
Message | Report
Stefl1504 posted 26/11/2010, 10:46
We should make a VGLeague for GT5^^
Message | Report
PullusPardus posted 26/11/2010, 03:49
Goodness i'm loving this way too much.......
Message | Report
afi77 posted 25/11/2010, 05:59
My game of the year
Message | Report
Cthulhu posted 25/11/2010, 11:11
Phenomenal Racing Experience
Message | Report
darthdevidem01 posted 22/11/2010, 05:57
Racing game of the decade
Message | Report
yahoocom1984 posted 02/11/2010, 11:16
Delay of the Decade
Message | Report
haxxiy posted 29/05/2010, 08:28
I expect it to match Others, surpass America and undeperform in Japan when compared to GT4 numbers.
Like 1m Japan, 3.2m Americas and 6.3m Others lifetime.
Message | Report
pslee posted 22/05/2010, 10:58
this game will change path of ps3 this generation. PD, please give this game to squarenix and tell them to make a port to xbox if they can. it seem like they are sucking bill gates' ass.
Message | Report
bigjon posted 17/04/2010, 08:05
cant wait for this baby
Message | Report
Heat posted 01/04/2010, 04:24
Will this game sell as poorly in America as GT4 did for some strange reason?

Overall I'm hoping for at least 11 million copies sold.
Message | Report
pslee posted 10/03/2010, 05:48
first day. I already preordered my copy. i will get japanese version if they get it first. i got my ps3 just for this game. prologue is getting boring even though online is still good and competitive
Message | Report
Rawnchie14 posted 07/03/2010, 03:17
@ RPG

Agreed. This will be the best selling PS3 game. Exclusive that is. (I don't think it'll reach CoD:MW2)
Message | Report
iWarMachine posted 19/02/2010, 10:54
i'm with you FootballFan...GT series never had an opening week with less than 2M copies sold.
i'm expecting 3M...

1.5 Europe
1.0 United States
500k Japan
Message | Report
FootballFan posted 17/02/2010, 02:45
1.5 million "others"
500,000 Japan
800,000 Americas

2.8 Million first week. Quote me
Message | Report
Rikadyn posted 10/02/2010, 05:13
Gran Turismo 5: The Real Duke Nukem Simulator.
Message | Report
headshot91 posted 06/02/2010, 11:42
4m first week? Yeah right
Message | Report
Miss piggy posted 21/01/2010, 10:43
The wait is immense,i think there will be a very huge burst in the first week ,4M and more,then a slow down but not very sharp.
Message | Report
RPG posted 15/01/2010, 12:40
It's going to be a slow burner. No doubt it will not do shabby first week WW (1.5 million is my guess) but it will have great legs.

For a PS3 game that is, nothing crazy like Kart Wii. The amount of features the game has though will only strengthen the franchise which is scary, no doubt the best selling PS3 title released.
Message | Report
iWarMachine posted 14/01/2010, 02:52
i predict:

3M+ First Week.
Based on the Gt4 and Gt5p numbers:

600k in Japan
1M in North America
1.5M in Europe

Lifetime Sales = 10M+
Message | Report
NeoMatrix posted 06/01/2010, 01:20
The February 2010 had an exclusive 10 pages article about Gran Turismo 5 and a GT Planet user posted the scans on their forums. Here's what we learn :

- Deformation for every car in the game although race cars will see even more damage
- First screens of GT5's night racing
- 1,000+ vehicles, all with modeled interiors
- Up to 16 players online
- Indy cars and tracks will be included
- Head tracking is reconfirmed and it's for use during racing
- Multi display is back (using 3 PS3's for a wider view)
- HD uploads to YouTube
- Weather
- Night racing for all tracks

- All cars will have cockpit view (the 170 premium are the ones on which the interior will also damage - the rest only external damage)
- Night & Day cycle and weather effects on all tracks
- Damage (visual and mechanical)
http://www.gtplanet.net/forum/showthread.php?t=124196

Just Definitive? Nope, a real RACING KING!!!
Message | Report
snyperdud posted 04/01/2010, 10:02
I'm so tired of waiting for this.
I want nowwwwwww.
Message | Report
Siko1989 posted 22/12/2009, 07:58
im hyped for this, it better not suck at the end lol
Message | Report
sangbyung posted 13/12/2009, 08:11
can this outsell mod mw2?
Message | Report
ZorroX posted 30/10/2009, 04:18
I predict 10M+ LTD and expect around 15M.
We shall see.
Message | Report
haxxiy posted 26/10/2009, 10:36
I predict:

1m Japan
2m USA
6m Europe and Others

9m lifetime
Message | Report
PlaystaionGamer posted 26/10/2009, 03:14
come on march 2010!!!
Message | Report
8Nawt753 posted 25/10/2009, 08:32
Please release in March! This is the only franchise I played for the past 2 generations.
Message | Report
sabby_e17 posted 19/10/2009, 06:06
This looks like its going to be the second best game that I will play this gen (after MGS4).
Message | Report
TT Makaveli posted 23/09/2009, 09:39
@snyperdud: yeah...lets say if they dont announce an release date at TGS it seems unlikely...no release date till november seems really really unlikely but on the other side GT is really so big and highly anticipated that PD could really announce it on 20 november that its coming out on the 20th december and it will be still no big problem!
Message | Report
snyperdud posted 07/09/2009, 01:40
Everyday that passes it seems less likely this come out in 09.
Message | Report
TyePhoid_PAL posted 27/08/2009, 09:48
C'mon GT5 we are waiting.
Message | Report
snyperdud posted 21/08/2009, 05:13
Release date please.
Message | Report
skeezer posted 20/08/2009, 08:42
I'm so fucking hyped for this game... CANNOT WAIT ANYMORE :(
Message | Report
sabby_e17 posted 20/08/2009, 04:28
I seriously cannot wait for this game. This surely will be the ultimate driving simulator this gen.
Message | Report
321tttrini4everz posted 19/08/2009, 06:19
man i want this game for xmas


Message | Report
PlaystaionGamer posted 16/08/2009, 08:14
Bundled with Slim Ps3 for £200 then we got a 10million seller
Message | Report
TyePhoid_PAL posted 10/08/2009, 06:29
This year please!!!!!!
Message | Report
FootballFan posted 18/07/2009, 11:03
I expect
2 million 1st week

8 million lifetime
Message | Report
aavidbacon posted 17/07/2009, 05:42
Well, Proloque sold 3 mln compared to 1,35 of GT4 Prologue. I expect similar response on the real deal.
Message | Report
HelloMotto posted 05/07/2009, 12:15
My prediction for first week sales:

1,000,000 EU
500,000 JP
600,000 US

8 - 9 million worldwide.

This is the first Gran Turismo game on the PS3, so I expect the sales to be pretty huge.
Message | Report
FootballFan posted 04/07/2009, 11:51
Will sell way more in Europe.
Message | Report
chris1_16 posted 28/06/2009, 06:46
Will it sell more in America or Europe?

*to be continued*
Message | Report
FootballFan posted 20/06/2009, 03:14
Surley willl hit 1 million 1st week!
Message | Report
yusuke93_ita posted 09/06/2009, 06:54
nascar license will boost sales in NA
Message | Report
RPG posted 08/06/2009, 03:50
Gran Turismo is not big in NA anymore. Getting bigger and bigger in EU though so GT5 will easily sell 8 million.
Message | Report
whofwhof posted 06/06/2009, 02:47
gran turismo 3 americans 7.14m
gran turimso 4 americans 2.76m

wtf???
Message | Report
whofwhof posted 06/06/2009, 02:44
yea the game will have damages
Message | Report
ocnkng posted 03/06/2009, 07:45
Is that damage I am seeing on that screenshot?
Message | Report
Squall_Leonhart posted 02/05/2009, 12:54
Here's hoping Sony are smart and make sure this is released for the holiday season 09' so the PS3 will have a bumper holiday sales spike and push it closer to the numbers the console should be selling, it is a great console!
Message | Report
ps3-sales! posted 27/03/2009, 09:05
if this releases late November alongside a temporarily $50 price drop then you can kiss this console war goodbye.... for at least a couple months :) i want this game!
Message | Report
Serious_frusting posted 25/03/2009, 03:21
i want you now :(
Message | Report
shizzlee posted 24/02/2009, 07:32
Where are you? :(
Message | Report
AaronSOLDIER posted 31/10/2008, 06:10
You cant ge this anymore - not on the EU store anyway, I deleted the game then couldnt find it - luckily its in my downloads list so i can just re download.

It was a great game for free though - cant expect too much for a price of 0
Message | Report
Mike92r posted 24/08/2008, 02:31
Does it be the game the sellest of PS3 ?? it will be the sellest Gran Turismo ??
Message | Report
roadkillers posted 26/06/2008, 05:45
This was my first experience with GT games. Maybe it was just me but I got bored.
Message | Report
Gearbox posted 01/06/2008, 01:36
fel where do u get that from? it says no1 owns and and no1 said they played it!
Message | Report
Fel_Br posted 15/03/2008, 07:15
So, 10 people have already played this Game?

They used Time machines?
Message | Report
 1   13   14   15   16 

Shipping Total

11,950,000 Units
As of: September 30th, 2017

Opinion (1575)

atma998 posted 02/04/2021, 03:29
10 years later, I'm coming here and yup, I was right when I was saying the franchise was on a downward trend.

GT6 did 5.22M and GTS did an awful 3.77M.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 03/07/2016, 09:03
PD Updated their site. 11.95m now.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 27/12/2015, 07:51
http://www.polyphony.co.jp/products/

Official numbers for the entire series. GT5 is the second best selling game in the franchise!
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 21/12/2015, 04:47
http://gamrconnect.vgchartz.com/thread.php?id=81982&page=1

It also puts that thread in a massive change of perspective! :D
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 20/12/2015, 05:56
Interesting thing to note - when you break down the regions, in the US, GT5 sold 3.44m, while GT4 sold 3.47m. This is significant, because many thought that the brand was falling off there. The highest selling GT, that wasn't a pack-in title in the US (like GT3), sold 3.99m, which was the original game. This means that the drop off has not been anywhere near as big as claimed and it also means that GT is still the highest selling console driving simulator in the region.

GT7 could sell a little closer to that 3.99m, given the PS4's sales history for other, high profile, 1st party titles.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 17/12/2015, 09:33
I never dreamed of it doing 12 million. That's just bananas! What it tells me is, GT6 was a bit of a fluke. That it released at the worst possible time (still nearing 5 million, but you get the idea).

GT7 should suffer no such fate. And GT Sport should do a good 8-10 million (a little less than the series' trademark 10-11 million, since it isn't a numbered release).
Message | Report
View all