By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
8.8
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

グランツーリスモ 5

Developer

Polyphony Digital

Genre

Racing

Release Dates

11/24/10 Sony Computer Entertainment
11/25/10 Sony Computer Entertainment
11/24/10 Sony Computer Entertainment

Community Stats

Owners: 576
Favorite: 69
Tracked: 52
Wishlist: 172
Now Playing: 61
 
8.5

Avg Community Rating:

 

Gran Turismo 5 (PS3) > Opinions (1368)

 1  2  3  4  5  6  14 
WebMasterFlex posted 10/03/2012, 09:12
PS3 games are long term sells. Look at LittleBigPlanet,, it's going 5 million, I remember many people said it won't reach 2. Same with U2 & U3 which will go 6 for U2 and 7 ofr U3
Message | Report
WebMasterFlex posted 10/03/2012, 09:08
"Honestly I don't see how it can reach 10M" I Can see it but it will take time. New PS3 buyers in Europe oftenly take GT5 with.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 09/03/2012, 10:34
GT5 did not even sold 500k in the past 4 or 5 months and this includes holiday sales, new spec II version, new XL edition and bundles in several european countries. Honestly I don't see how it can reach 10M. Sales tend to decrease with time not increase. I would be curious to hear about this...but please don't come with the heavy bundling scenario! lol
Message | Report
atma998 posted 09/03/2012, 10:22
@AnarchyWest I don't care about the game but about the sales. A lot of people predicted some crazy numbers in the past few years and now that they are proved wrong, it's interesting to come here and see what they are thinking now. Unfortunately most of them are still in delusion. Btw I own a PS2 and I'm also a PC gamer :)
Message | Report
WebMasterFlex posted 09/03/2012, 09:22
10 million in 2 years probably. PS3 still have 5 years to live I think. I wouldn't be surprise if GT6 come out on PS3.
Message | Report
AnarchyWest posted 09/03/2012, 01:14
atma998 as someone who is exclusive to nintendo why do you care so much about GT5 so much?
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 06/03/2012, 04:05
@ieatbabies you're talking a load of rubbish, drop the fanboy crap you're lowering the tone for people who appretiate quality (GT5).
maybe 1 day forza might have sales that equel GT's only that wont happen for another 3 years minimum, yep thats right no forza 5 in 2 years turn 10 are working on a different game.

anyway rather than turn this into a debate about forza 4 as no one really gives a shit about it cause it doesnt pose a threat to GT5's sales can we move on.
thank you.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 06/03/2012, 03:57
It was first ''GT5 will be the best selling GT ever'' and then ''it will reach at least 10 million'', then ''it will reach 10 million LT'' and now ''probably reach 10 million one day'' lol

@ethomaz Is this not precisely what is going wrong, the game is only selling ''good'' while bundled, not great as a main franchise like GT should do. How many 25k weeks to reach 10 million again?
Message | Report
IEATBABIES posted 06/03/2012, 03:44
Turn 10 fan boys can inflate their ego's all they want by saying

"Forza is the best franchise ever, PS3 sux Gran Turismo 5 is poo" etc etc.

Fact of the matter is, Gran Turismo has history on each generation of Sony made consoles. Microsoft fan boys can only wish Turn 10 had Polyphony's sales. never will happen. Even if Turn 10 started at the same time as Polyphony, it wouldn't matter. It's like Microsoft fan boys only bought this game just to brag and yet Forza Motorsport 4 hasn't even hit 2 million. If it was the biggest thing since the coming of Jesus Christ it would have double what Gran Turismo 5 has. I'm not a Sony fan boy, but I'm just typing the truth.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 05/03/2012, 03:15
25k this week... selling like first year of good games.
Message | Report
WebMasterFlex posted 05/03/2012, 08:41
lol that is all what you got ? Bundled in France ? GT always sell a lot. GT5 is doing the same, it will probably reach 10 million one day.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 03/03/2012, 12:00
Still bundled...
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 02/03/2012, 05:02
@atma998 I think the bundle is just for France.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 02/03/2012, 01:21
@dsage01 GT5 is currently bundled in Europe.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 26/02/2012, 03:29
Forza 4 might be able to do another 3 million but only with massive bundling just like how Forza 2, 3 and now Forza 4 are being bundled heavily. Really GT5 has hardly even being bundled and your comparing it to a game that only sells by being extensivley bundled? Even with the extensive bndling and large marketing Forza 4 won't be able to come near the GT franchise. There's a reason why it can still sell 30k a week without bundling.
Message | Report
WebMasterFlex posted 26/02/2012, 07:33
This game is going to do 10 million. Do not want to troll but Forza 4 can't even reach GT5 Prologue sells
Message | Report
Alby_da_Wolf posted 24/02/2012, 10:19
Ooops! I was quite late.
Message | Report
Alby_da_Wolf posted 24/02/2012, 12:18
Didn't anybody notice PD updated again its shipments numbers? GT5 is now 7.43M as of Dec 2011, previously, IIRC, it was 7.3M as of Sep 2011. So PD did some more shipments since then, and even though they surely shipped some more than necessary, as nobody sane would risk shortages for Xmas, shouldn't at least those previous 7.3M be all sold to end users by now?
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 19/02/2012, 11:20
i still think some people are stupid, isnt the right michael-5, just gotta love the comments you left on forza 4 eh "I think Forza 4 will get another 3 million sales, that should make the sales difference between 3 Forza's and 3 GT's almost nothing. Good observation, surprised for being a smaller name, Forza can still match GT in sales. Guess the quality difference got to people." and not forgetting "Compensating? and people say I write a lot.Forza 4 is still the best Sim this gen, sales =/= quality, and brand names are for fools." lmfao.
Message | Report
miqdadi posted 19/02/2012, 08:11
I still think 10M within reach, Just look at the prologue sales, the least this can do is 8M

Message | Report
Dahum posted 18/02/2012, 08:02
not to forget i didn't purchase my own copy yet which i will very soon;)
Message | Report
Dahum posted 18/02/2012, 08:00
this game is in another league of its own when it comes to the sales.... this game is so popular & has great legs and according to its sales pattern it will surpass 10 million copies and maybe reach 11 million considering the PS4 isn't coming anytime soon according to Sony which will give plenty of room for GT5 unlike GT4.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 17/02/2012, 01:56
@Michael... I already lost this battle
Message | Report
Michael-5 posted 17/02/2012, 01:46
Ocarina of Time got adjusted down 600k....how can you research the root cause, VGC staff aren't telling us anything......still going to loose our bet, 7 weeks of data left, 1.3 million to go!
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/02/2012, 12:13
@Ethomaz Don't know which version of all these games you have looked at but none of the ones I have looked got adjusted down by 100-300k. Also how can you verify this? Can you provide me links of adjustment of a game that has been adjusted for example?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/02/2012, 12:13
@Ethomaz Don't know which version of all these games you have looked at but none of the ones I have looked got adjusted down by 100-300k. Also how can you verify this? Can you provide me links of adjustment of a game that has been adjusted for example?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 15/02/2012, 10:55
@atma998 MW3, Skrym, Batman, FIFA, Zelda, Mario, etc... etc... almost all game has been adjusted... the TOP20 from last week is all adjusted down... If I'm not wrong just one game was adjusted UP.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 14/02/2012, 03:52
@ethomaz I looked more than 10 other big titles and no one got adjusted down... What do you mean by ''almost all games'' ? Which one got adjusted down?
Message | Report
Cold Light posted 13/02/2012, 07:57
Soon it will pass NFS: Underground (best seller of NFS franchise at 7.20 M) and become 9th best selling racing game of all time. Nice ;)

How much time will this game take to hit 8 M copies? About one year?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/02/2012, 12:18
@atma998 almost all games were adjusted 100-300k down this week... I thing that's some thing about the VGC algorithm for estimate the unknown countries sales... I'm still researching the root cause .
Message | Report
atma998 posted 11/02/2012, 01:45
Adjusted down by 90k by the way...
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 10/02/2012, 01:20
48k this week... really nice.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 09/02/2012, 03:12
@ethomaz

Probably with the new japanese Spec II version, european bundles and XL edition in NA.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 08/02/2012, 03:42
21k this week just in Japan... near 50k WW?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 07/02/2012, 10:26
@osamanobama

No, the utterly ridiculous one here is you since you're the one who does not get the fact that there was indeed hundreds of thousand units on shelves ready for Q4 sales. Now that the holidays are over there are still around 300k+ units on shelves which is also OK and yes overtracking is also possible unless you're too much of a fanboy to recognize it. That said, I was indeed right but I don't expect you or people like you to admit it anyway.
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 07/02/2012, 06:49
you realize this has been adjusted up recently, also no you were wrong, they shipped more after September. and you were claiming it was overtracked, utterly ridiculous.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 07/02/2012, 03:41
Seems I was right after all :)
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 06/02/2012, 01:54
Shipment update: http://gamrconnect.vgchartz.com/thread.php?id=139657 (7.43m by Dec 2011)
Message | Report
enditall727 posted 04/02/2012, 07:52
only 2,784,667 to go ;)
Message | Report
thehusbo posted 03/02/2012, 07:07
Amazing sales! Just keeps going along..
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 03/02/2012, 03:59
Over 30k this week (in January = EPIC)
Message | Report
Santacruz posted 31/01/2012, 05:44
new bundle in france include gran turismo 5 =)

http://www.amazon.fr/gp/product/B006WQPDAI/ref=s9_simh_gw_p63_d2_g63_i4?pf_rd_m=A1X6FK5RDHNB96&pf_rd_s=center-2&pf_rd_r=1K18JRH9MS6FRB3QEB9T&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=463375533&pf_rd_i=405320

maybe it get a small boost in france then :D
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 31/01/2012, 02:23
@Genera1MLD I'm playing the game... a lot... and the people here cares about GT5 like every other gamer except you .
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 30/01/2012, 09:08
i couldnt care less what position its in, just play the game rather than spending all your time here fighting fanboys.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 30/01/2012, 01:51
Again in almost every chart in Europe... 34th in UK.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 29/01/2012, 04:45
26k this week
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 26/01/2012, 08:25
I would expect 7.4 million by now. According to VGC we haven't even surpassed out first shipment (Europe) and now they decided to ship a couple hundred grand more copies? And this is data as of Spetember 2011 where the sales were still surfing at 6 million. So I think as of this date the sales should be:
Europe: 4.1 million (off track)
Japan: 600k + (on track)
North America: 1.8 million (on track)
Global: 7.4 million (Extra 900k for the rest of the world) *Overtracked by 250k*
I could be slightly off however I'm basing these on VGC, Media Crate, NPD, chart track and PD. It is severly undertracked in Germany, U.K. with the data we've got so far. More data will come soon.
Message | Report
Jansky8 posted 25/01/2012, 11:08
So ethomaz at how much would you estimate the globale sales?
Message | Report
Boutros posted 24/01/2012, 03:18
roflmao
Message | Report
Aj_habfan posted 24/01/2012, 12:33
Calm down now
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 24/01/2012, 12:24
GT5 sold more than 500k in Germany too... http://gamrconnect.vgchartz.com/thread.php?id=139114
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 24/01/2012, 12:08
Seems undertracked in UK... GFK shows it selling 200k+ in 2011... VGC shows 91k.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 24/01/2012, 12:03
New sales page... COOL!
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 23/01/2012, 06:30
The page sales changed... 1,800,512 in 2011.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 23/01/2012, 02:41
Again in TOP40 UK chartz.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 21/01/2012, 04:18
@Fufinu yes... the game is GT5.
Message | Report
Fufinu posted 21/01/2012, 12:29
Will XL be counted as the same as this?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 20/01/2012, 11:57
Sold 19k this week... next week XL Edition boost.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 20/01/2012, 05:33
@jester2358 because the Platinum Edition launched in Sep... I guess when the shipment of Platinum was sold the XL/Spec 2.0 Edition will come to Europe.
Message | Report
Serious_frusting posted 20/01/2012, 04:02
lol at people who said this game would sell 6-7 million
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 20/01/2012, 03:13
Dlc support for this game is impressive , and I can't see gt6 being released on ps3, a ps4 launch title is more likely. PD is likely working on a vita GT. ethomaz is right on the shipments for Xl the next PD software update will be slightly inflated due to them shipping out the new edition . No idea why they aren't doing one in Europe
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 19/01/2012, 04:19
The new Seasonal Events are the hardest ever... I have to try and use so many car and modifications to win the race.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 19/01/2012, 04:17
The Lamborghini Aventador is another most to have in the game now... I played more than 5 hours of GT5 today just because the update and DLCs.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 19/01/2012, 04:16
The new SpeedTest using the Route X is Absolutely AWESOME! And the regenerative braking and other features added to electric cars make it even more realistic... PD even increased the sound of the game.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 19/01/2012, 04:13
About he sales in NA... the PD shipped 1,830k til end of September... I think the release of the XL Edition just show us the 1.8m shipped is already sold... more 300-500k for XL Edition in NA in this quarter (end of March)... so 2.5m is easy. And GT5 just for PS4... PD is adding more features and simulations for GT5 in each update... so the GT5 is definitive for PS3.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 19/01/2012, 04:09
@CGI I think the XL Edition will be counted here because the Spec III for GT5:P was counted in GT5:P and the PD never counted these editions like a new game.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 18/01/2012, 12:40
@CGI USA sales are currently at 1.6M, there is no chance it reach 2.8M. The game is barely selling few thousands a week here in the US. Get real!
Message | Report
atma998 posted 17/01/2012, 10:05
@ethomaz No, it was really 7.126M. But anyway 13k or 17k isnt a big deal of a difference...and still pretty low sales. Hopefully XL edition is around the corner.
Message | Report
gipsy_jack posted 17/01/2012, 08:43
Sales are 0 k in Japan since many week. I can't believe this.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 17/01/2012, 02:19
GT5 sold 17k this week.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 17/01/2012, 02:19
@atma998... 7.126 is rounded to 7.13... after adjustments the number showed here was 7.12 or 7.122... befere that it was 7.128... sorry your numbers are off.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/01/2012, 11:00
@ethomaz I took the numbers AFTER the adjustment of last week = 7.126M, then VGC added last week numbers = 13k, which makes the total sales = 7.139M.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/01/2012, 11:00
@ethomaz I took the numbers AFTER the adjustment of last week = 7.126M, then VGC added last week numbers = 13k, which makes the total sales = 7.139M.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 16/01/2012, 12:54
The is adjusted down 6k before this week... the number was 1.22m.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 14/01/2012, 05:23
The game was at 7,126M after the adjustment of last week and is now at 7,139M. 7,139M - 7,126M = 13k...no?
Message | Report
John_Doe posted 14/01/2012, 10:42
lol 13k here is top 4 (biggest videogame store in spain) below MW3, hdmi cable and a headset http://www.game.es/
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 14/01/2012, 03:23
Anyway... where did you got that 13k???
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 14/01/2012, 03:22
@atma998 sold 17,989 last week or the week before XL Edition release... next week good sales again.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 13/01/2012, 10:14
Sold 13k last week.
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 13/01/2012, 02:11
still undertracked.... by a lot. just wait for PD to update their numbers
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/01/2012, 12:19
atma998 VGC overtracked 360 by 1 million in December... these numbers ans other for software are wrong... waiting more adjustments... even for GT5.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 12/01/2012, 11:28
but, but... it's impossible, this game cannot be overtracked!!! Now can we just calm down and trust VCG instead of stating each week it's undertracked. VGC know their stuff....better than all of us!
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 12/01/2012, 10:16
Yeap... down 6,689 in December.
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 12/01/2012, 04:52
this just got adjusted down?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 11/01/2012, 06:09
Guys... more content to GT5: http://gamrconnect.vgchartz.com/thread.php?id=138678
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 11/01/2012, 06:09
@jester2358 nothing for europe yet... anyway the Platinum editium is new there.
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 11/01/2012, 02:28
thanks for the info ethomaz, if it has the re5gold effect it might make gt5 pass 1 million in japan. any confirmation on a similar re-release in europe?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 10/01/2012, 11:45
@ethomaz you're right about the 6.62M (I diddnt know how to retrieve old sales data), however it doesnt change my point as 680k is also very plausible. As for the 1.3M, I don't think the adjustment was that big (1.3M - 680k = 620k) but anyway I don't get the point of bringing back this number (1.3M) as it does not make part of the calculation anymore.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 10/01/2012, 04:53
My mistake... the japanese version is set to release in 12th Febuary.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 10/01/2012, 04:53
@jester2358 the Spec II Japan version is confirmed to release in 20th January.
Message | Report
Heavenly_King posted 10/01/2012, 04:38
GO GT5!!! hopefully with XL edition by the end of the year, will reach 10M XD
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 09/01/2012, 10:34
Xl edition should give it a good boost, hopefully they release that edition in Europe and Japan as well . I wonder if it will do as well as re5s gold edition in Japan .
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 09/01/2012, 06:18
yes thnking this game is overtraked and not undertracked is stupid. you are right
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 09/01/2012, 01:23
@atma998... here: http://www.vgchartz.com/weekly/40818/Global/ and the GT5 was been adjusted in the last three weeks... before that when the PD numbers was updated the shipped/sold gap for End of Sep was 1.3m... today (after adjustments) is 680k... I'm not giving my opinion here just showing raw data (VGC and PD).
Message | Report
Ham_Burgular posted 09/01/2012, 12:51
Fifas European sales are much more impressive than this games.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 09/01/2012, 06:27
@osamanobama: We agree on this!
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 09/01/2012, 05:45
the stupidity in this thread is unbelievable
Message | Report
atma998 posted 09/01/2012, 03:28
@Ethomaz Where did you get your 6.62M? And where are you taking your 1.3M too?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 09/01/2012, 03:08
@atma998 a little help: 7.3m (PD) - 6.62m (VGC) = 680k... that's after adjustments... before the shipped/sold gag was 1.3m.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 08/01/2012, 06:06
Jeez, no one is talking about 1.3M!!! PD says they have shipped 7.3M as of September, at that time VGC tracked about 6.75M sold or so which means about 550k copies on shelves at that time, which makes sense, considering the franchise and the holiday boost just around the corner. The game may even be overtracked! Honestly you guys are just way too much! I never changed my line of thinking. I guess it's impossible to put some sense into you as you will always claim the game is undertracked no matter what... At least just stop pulling out numbers from a hat or talking about ''fact'' without any proof to back it up, that way you will all lmore credible!
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 07/01/2012, 10:25
@atma998: So in September it would make sense to have 1,3M of inventorie but now 170k is the stock and is also normal??? Please what is normal for you? To change the line of thinking from one post to another even if they are only a few minutes apart?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 07/01/2012, 09:49
@obamanobama Can you please provide links of your so-called ''facts''?
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 07/01/2012, 07:02
so a game that sells 60k a week during the Christmas season and 25k during the rest of the year will have hundreds of thousands of copies sitting on shelves, and stores will just accept this? taking up precious space on shelves and inventory. and Sony will just ship 6 months of supply because the can, with no need to make another shipment? its brand new games, that sell 100k copies per week that have hundreds of thousands on shelves not games that sell a 1/3 of that. im telling you for a fact that Sony did not ship 6 months worth of Gt5. im telling you for a FACT that it has sold that shipment, its been more than 3 months. im telling you for a fact that Sony has made another shipment since (one stores would not accept if there were still 100's of thousands of copies on shelves.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 07/01/2012, 04:49
@dsage01 Please stop making a fool of yourselves. 7.3M-7.13M = 170k. Sony might have shipped some more games since September but nowhere near a million that's for sure. As for the Europe numbers, this is very obvious VGC and PD do not track Europe the same way. As far as global sales goes VGC seems right on the spot... So call me a hater as long as you want, now you're just proving us that you are either totally blind or just unable to understand basic logic. It must be hard to be such a supporter...
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 07/01/2012, 01:01
It's obvious that this is horribly undertracked in Europe.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 07/01/2012, 01:00
@atma998 1.2 million on shelves according to 3 month old data! Either you really hate this game or you love to hate on the PS3 and PS3 games (Which I have seen you do earlier). Really there is no use arguing with you. We're only going to waste our time.
Message | Report
Colocho posted 07/01/2012, 12:29
How is this game tracking compared to GT4?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 06/01/2012, 11:49
@osamanobama: As I replied to you earlier, games like GT5 have indeed several hundreds of thousand copies sitting on shelves as they are available in larger quantity and in much more locations too. We can see huge discrepencies between shipped and sale figures for all major releases of the big three and other big third party titles as well. You can easily find out by yourself in comparing numbers reported by these companies with actual VGC numbers. But maybe it's easier for you to just being in a denial mode.
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 06/01/2012, 10:33
recent shipped numbers? you mean numbers that are over 3 months old, of which according to this site they still havent sold, nor will they until March.... 6 months after the shipment. it looks spot on to you because you are delusional. why would they ship enough copies of GT5 to last them 6 months without the need to make even 1 more shipment. Why would stores want hundreds of thousands of copies of GT5 on their shelves when it will is selling less than 60k per week, and soon less than 40k. know with GT5 XL coming out, they will have like what 500k+ sitting on shelves? logic is a good thing, use it.
Message | Report
John_Doe posted 05/01/2012, 04:19
RECENT shipped numbers??
Message | Report
Santacruz posted 04/01/2012, 10:27
@kowenicki 1m in europe on shelves ur right!
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 03/01/2012, 03:18
It shipped 4.5 million in Europe and sold less than 3.4 million? And its still in the top 40 in most/some European charts. It's almost certainly undertracked in Europe.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 03/01/2012, 03:15
Possible undertracked in Europe and overtracked in the "others cataogry. I doubt it sold over 1.4 million over there.
Message | Report
UnknownFact posted 31/12/2011, 09:01
t*
Message | Report
UnknownFact posted 31/12/2011, 09:00
My brother just bough it.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 31/12/2011, 05:23
7.15 million by the end of this year.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 31/12/2011, 03:27
65,629 this week.
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 31/12/2011, 12:41
undertracked by around 250k
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 31/12/2011, 12:15
Byt the way it seems it sould 70k this week, I hoped for more this month to reach at least 7,25M as a middle point of my prevision back in january (between 7~7,5M) but it's okay it'll keep seeling... if after New Year it can keep more than 10k weekly then it sure is HUGE LEGS
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 31/12/2011, 12:13
@atma998: Sure they will. And I still think it's possible (maybe need some bundling), but to be assured it is impossible to reach 10M I can't agree... and as ethomaz said first the PD data that is updated refers to a previous period (September I think is what he said).
Message | Report
atma998 posted 30/12/2011, 09:59
@DonFerrari Don't worry VGC will update if there is indeed overtracking/undertracking as they did in the past. As of now PD published their numbers two weeks ago and there is still no update so maybe they were just spot on, don't you think? As for the 10M, well I honestly don't have anything more to say as the weekly numbers are speaking for themselves...won't reach it for sure without any big bundle but be free to think it will reach 10 or even 15 million like some other user here, I don't really care.
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 30/12/2011, 11:33
1 year after release do you think 6 months of supply is common? So ok more power to you... because as it seems here you are the one that know all, because everybody else have another opinion... But I guess it's more your hope that GT5 never sells 10M than the reality... and you mix games that sell 5M, 10M and 25M as the same range of shelve stock after one year??? I can't see a game selling 20k and another selling 100k needing the same stock, seriously... and I don't know how to track, but everytime community complained about undertracking and people like you said it was because of stock (PS3 having 2M and Xbox 360 having 200k were normal for those guys) after 1 or 2 months VGC corrects the sales closer to reality, but be blind if you want.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 28/12/2011, 09:50
@DonFerrari: Read again, it's the same thing for any other big titles, but I guess you know more than VGC how to track game sales...so nevermind.
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 28/12/2011, 10:33
@atma998: If GT5 had 1M in inventaries along the world during february to july I could understand because they could be left overs from holiday season / debut... but to have this many in shelves when the game sells around 20k a week, more than 6 months of sales sitting on shelves doesn't see that accurate... but whatever any spin you can give to say GT5 numbers is bad or to prove it's IMPOSSIBLE for it to hit 10M without BIG BUNDLING you do... so nevermind.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 26/12/2011, 04:20
@osamanobama Absolutely and it's the same pattern for every other games. Every other big games (Halo, Mario, Skyrim, CoD, Pokemon, WSR, etc.) have several hundreds of thousand copies sitting on shelves as they are available in larger quantity and in much more locations too. Unfortunately, no knowledgeable VGC user on this page will tell you this truth even if they know that because of some poor and blinded fanboyism.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 26/12/2011, 03:52
@atma998. End of September. 7.3 million shipped - 6.6 million sold (the was adjusted UP again) = .700k on shelves... now it's fine (after adjustments).
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 26/12/2011, 06:07
@atm so you are saying that they shipped 7.3 million as of 3 months ago, and still havent sold though that shipment, and at the pace its going now it wont sell all of that shipment until past march of next year. so you are saying they have shipped enough supply to last them 6 months, and that this site is OVER-tracking this game? that is just nuts. that means they woud have absolutely no need to ship even 1 more copy of GT5 until March 2012. and stores will have just hundreds of thousands of copies of GT5 sitting on the store shelves for 6 months, and not recieve another shipment. its very clear that this game has sold more than 7.3 million. and when this site will show thats this games sales to be around 7.1 million by the end of the year, and the games september shipments to be 7.3 million, and then PD will show its December shipments t be over 7.6 million, what will you say? will it still be over tracked?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 23/12/2011, 10:06
@Ethomaz: Again, 7.3M - 6.96M = 340k copies on shelves, plus what have been shipped since September. No one is talking about 1.4 million except yourself. On another note, the game weekly sales went down to 60k this week but still allowed the game to reach 7 million! Now 8 million will be a looooooong road.
Message | Report
Ham_Burgular posted 23/12/2011, 03:26
Not bad.
Message | Report
thehusbo posted 23/12/2011, 03:23
7million :) well deserved!
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 23/12/2011, 03:04
1.4 million on shelves is ok just for launched titles.
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 22/12/2011, 11:37
lol
Message | Report
atma998 posted 22/12/2011, 10:14
@Jester Did I say ''few'' hundred thousands? No, I said ''several'' hundred thousand, which could imply 1 million and more. Please learn to read.
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 22/12/2011, 06:16
which is it atma? do big games like gt5 have more than a million on shelves like you stated a few posts down or do they only have a few hundred thousand as your claiming now?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 21/12/2011, 09:48
Well even 1 year old big titles have several hundred thousands units on shelves. This is just common knowledge.
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 21/12/2011, 05:38
@atma is makes sense for skyrim to have millions on shelves considering its selling 900k+ a week. GT5...is not so those stocking numbers aren't needed.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 21/12/2011, 01:22
In Asia and "Global it looks overtracked (by 500k at least) But in Europe it looks undertracked by at least 600-650k based on PD's shipment info) I doubt retaliers would shipt in so many copies it even it even selling that well. Another factor to conisder is PD doesn't include, South, America, Austraila an Africa so maybe push the sales up 200k. Mind you theses are not actual sales I'm giving info of just estimates according to my calculations. We will just have to wait for the next PD shipment numbers to come out.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 21/12/2011, 01:11
Sorry change that to 100-150k.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 21/12/2011, 01:10
Probably undertracked by 300k - 400k ust an estimate though. Most likely in Europe
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 20/12/2011, 10:45
I have no idea... launch titles have more in channel than old titles... GT5 is a old title with new versions coming (Spec II, Platinum)... so the units in shelves is lesser than new lunched titles... and for other big games I don't know because just PD show the shipped figures, no other company do the same thing.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 20/12/2011, 10:02
@Ethomaz Yes this is my argument to explain the discrepancy between both Europe numbers as this is the one making sense. But I don't expect someone like you or jester to understand this as you knopw that the game would be undertracked even before PD numbers came out. Oh and you did not answer my question... how many copies do you think other big first party or any other major titles are sitting on shelves? I give you a clue: Skyrim has shipped 10 million unit and sold less than 7 million so far...
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 20/12/2011, 09:01
obviously not all the million plus are sold , but I'd say we are at least a few hundred thousand short here if not more. but alas we have to wait for the next PD shipment info to once again silence the haters and more importantly cure my curiosity.
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 20/12/2011, 08:49
ah yes thank you ethomaz for the correction, forgot the shipment was from september. I would guess that since the americas and japan seem to have sold through on their shipments since then that europe would be close to doing the same.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 20/12/2011, 04:06
Just to you know... VGC adjusted every week of GT5 for accuracy and still seems under.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 20/12/2011, 04:05
@atma998 that's your argument for 1.4 million on shelves just in Europe???
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 20/12/2011, 04:03
@jester2358 for end of september VGC had GT5 at 3,084,509 in Europe (http://www.vgchartz.com/weekly/40818/Europe/)... so 1.4 million on shelves... undertracked.
Message | Report
postofficebuddy posted 20/12/2011, 01:09
6.96 is what we have it at now. The PD numbers are as of September. We had it at about 6.5 million back then. And a lot more have been shipped out since then anyway because September was before the launch of the GT5/Uncharted 2 bundle in Europe.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 20/12/2011, 12:22
VGC Europe doesnt count as many countries as PD Europe obviously.
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 19/12/2011, 11:30
its actually 4.5M-3.3M = more than a million on shelves in europe, according to PDs numbers.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 19/12/2011, 10:09
@Ethomaz, 7.3M - 6.96M = 340k copies on shelves, plus what have been shipped since September. Tracking seems just fine to me. But I won't be surprised if overtracked as a game like GT5 can easily have 1 million copies on shelves. How many copies do you think other big first party games (Halo, Mario, etc.) are sitting on shelves?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 19/12/2011, 01:45
@atma998 Do you thing there are more than 1 million on shelves just in Europe??? That's the diff between VGC and PD... so undertracked in Europe is my bet.
Message | Report
sub-zero-TM posted 18/12/2011, 01:56
Awesome numbers! 9-10m lifetime! best selling racing game of this gen?
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 18/12/2011, 01:05
Don't forget that if you sum Prologue to GT5 5,3+7,3 in PD site you will have a total of 12,6... So it's possible for GT5 to become the best selling of them all.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 17/12/2011, 07:33
@CGI Happy to see that you have changed your position and are now agreeing with me: GT5 won't reach 10M unless heavily bundled. Case closed.
Message | Report
Fame_Mcswagg posted 17/12/2011, 07:03
gtplanet has this game selling 7.3 million at this point
Message | Report
postofficebuddy posted 17/12/2011, 04:19
@CGI This will easily sell more than a million in 2012. Uncharted 2 will sell over a million in it's second full year and GT5 not only has better legs but a much higher overall sales baseline. And as you pointed out before Polyphony's shipments point to this being undertracked anyway, particularly in Europe.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 17/12/2011, 03:17
@CGI Ok let's do that. But just out of curiosity... how much do you think it will sell in 2012?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 17/12/2011, 01:13
@CGI Ok so because ioi said (probably a year ago, without all the data and new info since then) it will reach 10 million, then we must just assume the game will indeed reach 10 million? Come on, that's ridiculous and you know it. Talking about data to back up your point, you did not bring any for claiming the game is undertracked. Even with my scenario of GT5 selling a couple of 100k/week during the holidays and reaching 7.5M on year's end, I did not see GT5 reaching 10M. With these sales it's now becoming impossible, unless Sony decide to bundle every PS3 with GT5 in the future...
Message | Report
atma998 posted 17/12/2011, 02:15
@CGI Why would the game be undertracked? A game like GT5 could very well have several hundred thounsand copies sitting on shelves at the moment. At this point it sounds like wishful thinking to me, just as the 10 million.
Message | Report
Heavenly_King posted 17/12/2011, 01:50
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GT!!!
Message | Report
Alby_da_Wolf posted 17/12/2011, 12:15
PD numbers are shipped, but the last published a few hours ago are as of September 2011, so an adjustment up on VGC isn't unlikely.
Message | Report
enrageorange posted 16/12/2011, 11:56
PD numbers are and have always been shipped... Hence why so far this year it only shipped 600k, but obviously sold a lot more.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/12/2011, 10:55
@VGKing, PD numbers are shipped. Anyway it seems PD has finally updated their numbers and it fits with VGC, might even be a bit overtracked here...*run for his life*
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/12/2011, 10:55
@VGKing, PD numbers are shipped. Anyway it seems PD has finally updated their numbers and it fits with VGC, might even be a bit overtracked here...*run for his life*
Message | Report
VGKing posted 16/12/2011, 10:30
PD says 7.3m sold.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/12/2011, 10:24
@thehusbo: Until Mario Kart 7 surpass it :)
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/12/2011, 10:21
No, even with the bundles the game is still not in the Europe top 40.
Message | Report
shanbcn posted 16/12/2011, 10:07
It should ship close to 9m by end of 2012.
Message | Report
VXIII posted 16/12/2011, 04:56
7,3M shiped as of Sep 2011, nice ^^
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 16/12/2011, 04:38
70,472 this week... more three weeks... hummmm... 7.2 million by the end of the year..
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 16/12/2011, 04:11
How close it will get to 7,5M with 3 weeks of sale??? My prediction was between 7~7,5M
Message | Report
thehusbo posted 16/12/2011, 03:10
Has now passed Mario kart double dash and is now the 9th best racing game of all time :) 7 mill next week!
Message | Report
The_Joker_Product posted 16/12/2011, 10:02
7 mil next week probably.
Message | Report
Jansky8 posted 16/12/2011, 09:11
Great game, love it :) Ethomaz, just out of curiosity, how was Gran Turismo 4 doing at that time in its lifecycle?
Message | Report
EmpireNO posted 14/12/2011, 05:48
I love GT5. Been playing it since release and I still play it almost on a daily basis. Awesomeness.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 14/12/2011, 03:45
My prediction can be found easily on this page...
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 14/12/2011, 01:28
The fact: GT5 is tracking better than GT4.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 14/12/2011, 01:28
Prediction is just a prediction @atma998... anyway how much is your prediction for GT5???
Message | Report
atma998 posted 13/12/2011, 10:14
And I suppose you had a good reason to explain the huge discrepancy between your 1st week prediction and what it sold?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 13/12/2011, 10:09
@Ethomaz You made this prediction 2-3 weeks before the game's launch: http://gamrconnect.vgchartz.com/post.php?id=3760776 and you never spoke about heavy bundling...
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/12/2011, 04:22
For 31th December 2011... in January I guess.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/12/2011, 04:22
For 31th December 2011... in January I guess.
Message | Report
Mordred11 posted 13/12/2011, 02:31
when are PD's numbers coming out?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/12/2011, 02:05
GT5 15k just in UK.. .seems like over 50k this week (TOP40 baby).
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/12/2011, 01:34
Heavy bundled like Forza 3 or GT3 it can do that (15m)... if not it will be the second best selling GT ever (over GT4).
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/12/2011, 01:34
This week numbers... not last week.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 12/12/2011, 10:27
@ethomazNo, not in the Europe top 40 this week, #40 is Wii Fit Plus and it sold 46k for that territory alone, sorry. And you did not answer my question about your 15M LTD prediction lol.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 12/12/2011, 03:27
@atma998 due the bundle it appeared in TOP40 Europe this week... just if you not know GT5 is tracking ahead GT4 even after Holidays... EPIC.
Message | Report
Tridrakious posted 11/12/2011, 11:19
Sony's best performing title of the PS3 generation and continues to go up the chart. I will say though I'm getting less and less optimistic on GT5 hitting 10 million though.
Message | Report
Sarah90 posted 11/12/2011, 07:07
def. my favorite racing game. i love it!!!! :)
Message | Report
Alby_da_Wolf posted 10/12/2011, 07:10
Yes, if it gets near 10M, Sony will bundle it and push the sales of budget editions enough to reach it. But if it sells more and it gets near GT4, GT4 and GT1 are so close that Sony will bundle it ad push all its other sales enough to outsell both.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 10/12/2011, 03:12
Should get to 10 million LT at this rate.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 09/12/2011, 10:22
@Ethomaz Last week it sold 30k and this week 40k...wow what incredible numbers!! I wonder how many 40k weeks the game will need to reach your 15 million LTD prediction? Even bundled, the game is not in the top 40 nor in the Europe top 40 anymore unlike some other older games. Sorry for having bursted your bubble again. On a more positive note, the game is on its way to reach 7 million before year's end! Still a good milestone for any game...
Message | Report
DEF posted 09/12/2011, 10:18
7 million by the end of the year.)
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 09/12/2011, 09:01
please PD update the numbers.
Message | Report
Train wreck posted 09/12/2011, 08:41
If you include the prologue this game is well over 11 million.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 09/12/2011, 12:08
41,020 this week... I don't get the "still selling less than 30k/week" LOL
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 09/12/2011, 11:30
@The_Joker_Product and what does that matter?
Message | Report
The_Joker_Product posted 09/12/2011, 10:38
MW3 passed it in only 1 month to.
Message | Report
VXIII posted 08/12/2011, 04:01
Eh .... the ever lasting argument :p
Message | Report
atma998 posted 08/12/2011, 01:50
@CGI GT5 is currently bundled in some european countries just to let you know.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 08/12/2011, 01:20
GT4 sold less near 30k in holidays too... GT5 is tracking better than GT4 after adjustments.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 07/12/2011, 10:07
@CGI You will have to define what exactly ''stops selling'' means. Is 5k or 10k/week for the upcoming years can be considered as ''stops selling''? 10M cannot be reached magically. And by the way it's performing now, we can easily assume the game will die way sooner than 10M. I won't repeat what I already said about GT4 frame time comparison for obvious reasons.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 07/12/2011, 03:51
Again do the maths, if it doesnt sell substantial numbers during the holidays and it sells 10-15k/week during the rest of the year, 10 million is impossible to reach!
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 07/12/2011, 12:14
@atma998... less? It's more than 30k per week now.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 06/12/2011, 10:26
Still selling less than 30k/week? Seems like GT5 sales won't explode during the holiday period as some people predicted here...It will surely rise up a bit in the upcoming weeks but I don't see this game selling 100k+/week anymore.
Message | Report
LupinIII posted 06/12/2011, 04:18
Possibly though its sales still wont be as impressive as Black Ops.
Message | Report
kivi95 posted 05/12/2011, 10:01
I think thid msy have a change to be the best selling ps3 game ever!!!(In Europe)
Message | Report
John_Doe posted 05/12/2011, 05:30
Where the hell is the chart????
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 05/12/2011, 05:13
Just 140k more to take down position 9
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 03/12/2011, 02:35
Ajusted up 84,935 until Week 49... the current week is 54.
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 02/12/2011, 10:25
Every change made at VG have made people more confused and displeased by what we see... and horay... just another 680k in the next 5 or 6 weeks sales to reach my prediction... Let's see the Holidays kick in.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 01/12/2011, 09:08
I'm really starting to hate this format. But hopefully Asia, Canada and others will come around soon.
Message | Report
alonzodono posted 01/12/2011, 07:05
Ah ok ... and also , where is the " Yearly Charts " i do not see
Message | Report
VXIII posted 01/12/2011, 01:06
@alonzodono 5.4M is the total numbers of USA, Europe and Japan , 6.82 is WW total
Message | Report
alonzodono posted 30/11/2011, 05:00
Lifetime Totals: "5,410,004" WTF ? Is 6.82 not 5.4 :(
Message | Report
MrMofongo624 posted 25/11/2011, 11:13
sick assssss game!!!!!!!!!!
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 25/11/2011, 10:05
Happy 1st Anniversary!!!
Message | Report
postofficebuddy posted 20/11/2011, 01:09
@Kai Master I was referring to the holiday GT5+Uncharted 2 bundle Flippozzo mentioned below.
Message | Report
Kai Master posted 19/11/2011, 11:32
"new bundle in Europe" : I bought PS3+GT5 pack in February, that's not "new" !
Message | Report
Kai Master posted 19/11/2011, 11:31
Could sell between 9 and 11.5M in the end.
Message | Report
postofficebuddy posted 19/11/2011, 09:17
Sales decrease this week? Seems rather odd with the new bundle in Europe..
Message | Report
shanbcn posted 19/11/2011, 06:35
It seem PD have forgotten to update the numbers, should be close to 8m shipped by December 2011.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 19/11/2011, 04:40
Sales goes down?
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 19/11/2011, 04:07
Should hit 7 million by the end of the year
Message | Report
Flippozzo posted 18/11/2011, 07:00
In Italy (presume in Europa) there is a bundle with PS3 320 giga + Uncharted 2 + GT5 at 299€
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 18/11/2011, 01:32
And it just beat the 6,666,666 mark
Message | Report
Michael-5 posted 18/11/2011, 11:23
Still the game is a lot more frontloaded then older GT's. People were waiting for this game for a long time and it shows. Can't remember by original estimate for this game, but even 9 million lifetime looks to be difficult, it's a shame because this is basically the best PS3 game out there (after Uncharted), and the racing franchise in general needs this game to do well. I mean look at what's happened to NFS, a good GT is always appreciated.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 17/11/2011, 11:21
926k i nthe last 40 weeks.
Message | Report
The_Joker_Product posted 17/11/2011, 05:28
Very frontloaded game, hasnt even sold 1 million in the last 40 weeks.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/11/2011, 01:47
@coolbeans Interesting indeed. It seems the family/friendly games are the exceptions. I also find out that GT5 has already been bundled in Europe (Collector's edition) and Japan (titanium blue PS3). As for this holiday, if ever Sony planned to release a bundle, it would have been already announced. Maybe next year, who knows?
Message | Report
postofficebuddy posted 14/11/2011, 04:24
Sold 36k this week. Even if you completely ignore the holiday boost it would fall just a smidge short of 7 million by the end of the year just by maintaining this average. 8 million is still possible by the end of the year. Sony just need to announce a holiday bundle.
Message | Report
Serious_frusting posted 12/11/2011, 06:17
Just to say, GT5 isnt even a year old yet >_>
Message | Report
Donutsticks posted 12/11/2011, 04:11
@atma998 and CGI. Both of you guys have shared your opinions concerning gt5 and you both know how the other person feels. I don't think your debate is about whether gt5 will get 10 million anymore. Its about who's going to get the last word in. Please let this be the end of your debate.
Message | Report
homer posted 12/11/2011, 03:51
MK Wii was bundled roughly 2 years(if not more) after its release.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 11/11/2011, 10:47
I didnt say it was impossible for GT5 to reach 10M, just that it was impossible to reach that number without bundles, something that even CGI agreed on. In other words, it all depends on bundles. But now I just have one question and I'm not sure about the answer, that's why I'm asking you guys. Sony did not announce any bundle in the near future. Is it possible to bundle a two years old or more game with a console? I mean is there any example of one of the big three bundling a game launched 2 years ago with their console? I'm wondering because I think the more we advance in GT5 life cycle, the less there is a possibility of bundles.
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 11/11/2011, 02:28
@ CGI and atma998 And to end discussion, as GT5 is in its 50th week, almost one year down the road I'm most certain GT 4 already had its holiday sales by this time... so if GT5 is still outselling GT4 on a weekly basis (legs account) and is ahead in the same timeframe (frontload portion)... how came the discussion that it's IMPOSSIBLE to GT5 to reach 10M? You can say it's difficult, or that a bundle or greatest hits may help it, but you can't keep saying that people that think it are completly wrong just because they disagree with you. Or some people will wait to see if after GT4 second holiday GT5 is still ahead to accept the possibility? Because CGI didn't said it is certain that GT5 will cross 10M, but that its very possible. And to end the argument, if in January through March (dead season) GT5 still is weekly above GT4 its better to stop denying because after 2 holidays, V2, price cut it is just legs.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 11/11/2011, 12:26
Oh and no, 10M is not unreasonable if heavily bundled but in such a case wouldnt be more logical to compare it with another heavily bundled GT title like GT3? Yeah I know, it could makes GT5 look bad.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 11/11/2011, 12:20
You see? That's why we cannot have a serious discussion. You have completely ignored most of my points instead of trying to understand them while throwing again your ''time frame'' comparison with GT4 wich doesnt make any sense and you know why as previously discussed. You conclude saying there is nothing suggesting GT5 can't reach 10M. Wow! What a solid argument. Well at least I tried...
Message | Report
atma998 posted 10/11/2011, 11:31
@CGI Fact: you did not comment the game sales during the low season while you're now commenting each week (or day). Fact: To reach 10M before the end of 2013, the game will need to sell an average of 30k/week during the next 25 months or so. Fact: The first year of a frontloaded game is always the best selling period of its life cycle. Fact: GT5 sold about 30k/week during 2011 and this number will obviously decrease during the upcoming years if we follow sales trends of a video game like GT5. Now, how can it possibly reach 10M? Heavy bundles? Yeah maybe, that's hypothetical at that point, but you have now to admit it is the only way it can reach that mark and in such a case it doesnt show it perfomed better than the previous tiltes.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 10/11/2011, 10:54
As for the solid argument, I provided you with tons of them but each time, rather than trying to understand them, you just instantly deny or ignore them. As goes the ''off-topic/inflammatory nonsense'', I did not get banned from what I know, so again please just take a step back.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 10/11/2011, 10:46
My Agenda? What are you thinking lol? Do you believe I'm working 24/7 on a conspiracy against GT5 sales? Dude, maybe you should take a step back because you seem to be way too much into it. We're just talking about sales of a video game. You're saying it will easily reach the 10M mark while I'm saying it won't. Week after week you feel the need to justify the game's performance and I just put all this into context, something that obviously you don't like. Don't forget GT5 is not a religion but just a video game, so relax!
Message | Report
atma998 posted 10/11/2011, 10:03
Funny how you had to wait until this time of the year to cheer about the ''legs'' but did not say anything while the game sold below 10k/week during the summer. Quite mysterious isnt it?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 09/11/2011, 10:21
And just like any other video games, the sales are increasing during this time of the year. Oh well... but I agree 7 million will be reached soon.
Message | Report
cars298 posted 09/11/2011, 12:11
Good grafix
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 08/11/2011, 02:00
go check the date of those shipments bugrimmar it was last year.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 07/11/2011, 10:47
the legs are just beast... wonder if Uncharted 3 can have legs like this
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 07/11/2011, 10:46
umm... that was in december
Message | Report
bugrimmar posted 07/11/2011, 03:19
according to polyphony's website, they've shipped only 6.36 mil....
Message | Report
Iveyboi posted 04/11/2011, 04:55
Best F'in legs..SEEN
Message | Report
Kai Master posted 04/11/2011, 04:43
easily beating GT4 in EMEAA, a bit in Americas and underperforming every GT in Japan... It could reach 11M WW and rank 2nd after GT3.
Message | Report
shanbcn posted 04/11/2011, 04:18
I can just see it selling 150k per week towards the end of the year.
Message | Report
Mordred11 posted 04/11/2011, 01:19
Woah , it sold pretty damn good this week.
Message | Report
pslee posted 04/11/2011, 01:03
Soon will be overtaken by mw3. Spa is awesome!!
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 04/11/2011, 11:04
If it keep increasing in this rate towards the holiday we will have a very nice 7,5~8M before the end of the year.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 04/11/2011, 10:58
Sold just 36,468 this week... so low.
Message | Report
Mordred11 posted 04/11/2011, 07:34
this game wall must be the most commented on vgchartz
Message | Report
atma998 posted 04/11/2011, 04:14
@CGI I don't get it, you're so convinced the game will reach 10M and you predict the LT sale of the game as 9.7M LT (see your reply to Jansky below). Also you cannot say X franchise sells Y, it's not how it works in the real world. It's way more complicated than this. As for the time frame comparison with GT4, we have already discussed the issue at length.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 03/11/2011, 10:22
No misunderting here, I'm not saying the game is selling bad by the way, just that it's not selling as good as previous iterations. It won't reach GT4 LT sales and it won't reach GT3 LT sales either, which is the one to be compared to in the first place since a first iteration of an established franchise (not a growing one) on a new console always sells better than the second one. In the end, GT5 is selling good in comparison to the average sales of a video game, but not that good if we compare it to previous iterations, that's all.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 03/11/2011, 10:13
@CGI: I will say it again: Did you, or anyone else, answer gipsy's question before I did, yes or no? I will suggest that you ignored him because he did not make a cheerleader of himself, but instead asked a pertinent question which could make GT5 sales looks bad once answered.
Message | Report
Kai Master posted 03/11/2011, 11:11
I bought this game and I must say that I don't understand people saying the gameplay sucks, this game has the most subtile/realistic gamplay I've ever seen ! I think it is technically on par with PGR3 I played 5 years ago on 360, maybe I preferd PGR3, but the gameplay is really fantastic.. AI sucks... I hope it sells more than GT4 (10M)
Message | Report
atma998 posted 03/11/2011, 02:15
Did anyone answered his question, yes or no? But I guess you will claim the game is selling good in Japan...hardly surprising given the history. p.s. I'm not here to cheer or to put down this game, just speaking the truth, something you obviously don't like!
Message | Report
atma998 posted 02/11/2011, 10:14
@gipsy_jack: People here are generally too blinded to answer your question so I will: GT5 is already quite dead in this area, no undertracking.
Message | Report
Carl posted 02/11/2011, 01:56
I saw in the recent EMEAA thread, this is above Gran Turismo 4 in the same time frame. GT4 had just come out of a Holiday season too, with GT5 about to go into this one. GT5 will pull ahead in the next 2 Months... It's gonna be bundled at some point, probably next Year. 10 Million should be guaranteed at this point in time. Now, if only PD would release shipment numbers...
Message | Report
Jansky8 posted 01/11/2011, 11:23
How come Japan and Americas bought so much GT5 Prologue compared to GT5. And at how much do you guys think GT5 is going to finish at in both regions?
Message | Report
Jansky8 posted 01/11/2011, 11:22
Lol Michael-5 ;)
Message | Report
Michael-5 posted 01/11/2011, 10:54
WAIT DAMMIT WRONG WALL!!! man, was wondering why every comment was GT related... have Forza open in another tab, my bad.
Message | Report
Michael-5 posted 01/11/2011, 10:54
Get....off Sony fans...get, sho. This is Forza's wall, none of this bs here.....get, shoo
Message | Report
kivi95 posted 01/11/2011, 10:45
GT5 is so huge in Europe!!! Still dissapointing sales in America and Japan compared to the other GT games.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 01/11/2011, 08:31
HUUUUUGE!!!
Message | Report
gipsy_jack posted 01/11/2011, 06:21
is it possible that GT5 is undertrack in Japan....? Because it sold less than 1k per week...strange isn't it
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 01/11/2011, 08:04
lol 10 million by next year, sounds so familure "ps3 will outsell the 360" in 2011 ps3 fanboy were boasting last year" lol still behind by 2.8 million, thing is the ps3 has been swamped by exclusives this year the xmass bundles will focus on ps move games and uncharted 3.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 31/10/2011, 02:50
@CGI Was your last post supposed to be your last reply? lol
Message | Report
atma998 posted 30/10/2011, 09:44
@CGI I'm indeed interested in video games sales and this is why I'm an active VGC member. Following your logic, I guess that if you don't like a game you should not comment its sales but unfortunately for you this is not how things work in the real world. Also lol about saying everyone except me knows you prediction like if you're so important. In fact nobody knows and you don't even dare to repeat it cause you know you'll be proved wrong. Anyway thanks for this discussion it shows everyone what kind of person you are and how you are totally got blinded by your ''love'' for a brand.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 30/10/2011, 05:52
@Donutsticks 10M is just a number, I agree. The thing is that in the past years on VGC there was so many people predicting it will easily reach that number (a lot of them were even claiming it will reach that number in Europe only) and now they are not even able to admit it did not sell as good as they tought. The reality is that if the game eventually sold 10M it will have a hard time to reach that number.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 30/10/2011, 05:46
@CGI I don't get why you ''don't'' want to bring any numbers. You said the game will reach 10M ''long before 2014'' 1 day ago and now you're saying it will reach it by the mid-late 2013. What a difference! Anyway saying I'm the one who fear is just non sense since I provided clear numbers in my prediction while you didnt. I agree that we can wait and see but it would have been more credible for you to explain to us how it will reach it, my guess is that you're hoping the game will be heavily bundled.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 30/10/2011, 06:50
@tontus in Week 48 GT4 sold 3,723,790 (EMEAA) / GT5 sold 4,138,309... there aren't Week 48 data for Americas and Japan.
Message | Report
Donutsticks posted 29/10/2011, 10:40
@atma: It's to early to tell if gt5 will sale 10 million or not. Why don't you just wait and see like everybody else? Besides whats the big deal if does or does not sale 10 millon? The game is already a huge success!
Message | Report
atma998 posted 29/10/2011, 05:33
@CGI Look who's talking about people hoping/wanting/dreaming the game will reach 10M without bringing solid figures. Where is your prediction? I gave you mine but yours is still nowhere to be found...And when you talk about ''some bundling'' what exactly do you mean? 500k? 2M? 5M? Well if the game is bundled by millions it doesn prove anything to me...guess what Wii Play sold near 30 million units! The thing with your argument CGI is that you doesn bring any raw numbers like if you fear to be proved wrong.
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 29/10/2011, 03:51
@Tontus: You may be right, but it's possible that it hit.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 29/10/2011, 03:00
@pezus Sure holiday season will increase the average, but how much? It's funny to see that no one claiming it will (without any doubt) reach 10M+ is able to demonstrate how it will with raw numbers predictions.
Message | Report
tontus posted 29/10/2011, 01:54
When you align the launches for GT4 it's actually tracking ahead of GT5 by about 50k. GT5 could hit 10m but it's not as guaranteed as some think. I don't think it will, it'll sell just a little more than GT2 imo, about 9.5m.
Message | Report
sabby_e17 posted 29/10/2011, 01:38
So now every car has cockpit view? Then ima hop onto GT5 now after some time. Was very disappointed with GT5 for being a half-finished game when it released.
Message | Report
jace101 posted 29/10/2011, 08:08
Omg all cars now have in car cam with this new update.Thousands of cars with in car cam not just premium cars.This game keeps getting better and better.I havent even got the DLC I heard its killer!
Message | Report
kurasakiichimaru posted 29/10/2011, 07:17
Meh. This game is probably undertracked and the game will sell well as price goes down.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 29/10/2011, 02:55
and just to help you with your predictions if we exclude the launch period (first ten weeks of sales), GT5 sold an average of 22k/week up to this date. This number will obviously decrease in the upcoming years...
Message | Report
atma998 posted 29/10/2011, 02:55
and just to help you with your predictions if we exclude the launch period (first ten weeks of sales), GT5 sold an average of 22k/week up to this date. This number will obviously decrease in the upcoming years...
Message | Report
atma998 posted 29/10/2011, 02:46
@CGI and Don: You guys don't seem to understand how a time frame comparison works. You cannot compare a game released before holidays with one release after and then compare where they stand 1 year after launch, it just doesnt make sense. In January, GT5 will have benefit from 2 holidays vs. only one for GT4. Anyway since you don't understand it let's put this aside and let's just take a look at what GT5 needs to sell to reach 10M. Like I said before, how much do you think it will sell for 2012-2013-2014 excluding heavy bundling scenario? Do the math and then explain to me how is it possible to reach 10M LTD. I'm very curious to hear your predictions! :D
Message | Report
Marks posted 29/10/2011, 02:06
Wow nm that 750k forza figure is after 2 weeks. Only did 550k first week.
Message | Report
Marks posted 29/10/2011, 02:05
Wow GT5 killed Forza 4 in sales. 2.3 million first week vs 750k first week.
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 28/10/2011, 11:55
@atma998: Do you still ignore when he says it is selling about the same week on week on the same timeframe, and as where discussed before GT4 already had its Holliday this time around (in number of weeks) after all the year have 52 weeks and this was 48... what was your point again?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 27/10/2011, 10:24
@CGI I'm still waiting for your prediction. Also when talking about ignored fact did you mean the fact that GT5 was released before the holidays while GT4 wasnt and then comparing the sales on the same ''time frame''? lol
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 27/10/2011, 08:25
More zero sales this week... sorry PD :(
Message | Report
Munkeh111 posted 27/10/2011, 09:36
Still selling quite nicely, though I doubt it will ever reach 10m
Message | Report
shanbcn posted 27/10/2011, 02:10
When will PD update shipment figures? They used to update them after 3 months.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 26/10/2011, 10:28
...unless heavy bundling which is out of the question at the moment obviously. Now where are your predictions guys?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 26/10/2011, 10:25
A logical explanation? Dude, I already gave you tons of logical explanations. But just look at the numbers, this game is currently selling what? 20k/week. Even if it can sell a couple of weeks over 100k during the holidays and manage to reach 7.5M on January 1st 2012, how do you think it will sell for 2012, 2013 and 2014? No more than 1.5 million for these three years seems reasonable to believe which makes 9 million LTD. But imo it will probably be less than that like 8-8.5M LTD seems even more reasonable.
Message | Report
gipsy_jack posted 26/10/2011, 05:24
I thonk we'lll have a better idee after christmas
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 26/10/2011, 04:28
This game is selling nothing
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 25/10/2011, 11:03
never more than 6,5M... Maybe v2 in the platinum edition can even boost more sales.
Message | Report
 1   2   3   4   5   6   14 

Shipping Total

11,950,000 Units
As of: September 30th, 2017

Opinion (1368)

atma998 posted 02/04/2021, 03:29
10 years later, I'm coming here and yup, I was right when I was saying the franchise was on a downward trend.

GT6 did 5.22M and GTS did an awful 3.77M.
Message | Report
VXIII posted 17/12/2015, 06:31
True. What a monster. I predicted 10.5M back in days. GT5 pretty much exceeded everyone's expectations at this point.
Message | Report
VXIII posted 16/12/2015, 06:54
"GT5 total just shy of 12 million units (11.94). This pushes the 2010 title into second place within the franchise, second only to GT3’s massive 14.89 million"

https://www.gtplanet.net/gt6-sales-total-4-71-million-franchise-over-76-million-units/
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 07/01/2015, 06:51
The last shipped data is 10.66m as of Mar 2013. Yeap I believe the shipment is at least close to 12 million right now.

If VGC is undertracking it then it is really a little amount... 11 million max like CGI said.
Message | Report
Kerotan posted 07/01/2015, 03:40
@CGI GT5 sold pretty well the prologue sales for it were excellent too. Can you PM me the info regarding why you think Polyphony will update their numbers soon?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 06/01/2015, 06:02
Thanks
Message | Report
View all