By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Close
×

America - Front

America - Back

Review Scores

VGChartz Score
8.8
                         

Ratings

     

Alternative Names

グランツーリスモ 5

Developer

Polyphony Digital

Genre

Racing

Release Dates

11/24/10 Sony Computer Entertainment
11/25/10 Sony Computer Entertainment
11/24/10 Sony Computer Entertainment

Community Stats

Owners: 576
Favorite: 70
Tracked: 52
Wishlist: 172
Now Playing: 61
 
8.5

Avg Community Rating:

 

Gran Turismo 5 (PS3) > Opinions (1575)

 1  2  3  4  5  6  16 
Genera1MLD posted 17/08/2012, 12:20
@pitzy272 they sure will, the Academy Edition will be available before xmass and no doubt will still be at platinum price plus the 360 has no racing sim this year (though forza is actually an arcade racer and a boring 1 at that) GT5 should peak past 8 million to 8.2 million by xmass and be january 2013 it should be close to 8.3 million.
Message | Report
pitzy272 posted 16/08/2012, 11:34
GT5 currently at #1 spot on Amazon. Wow. Huge price drop I guess, but still, it's almost a 2 yr old game. Hope the sales continue.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 16/08/2012, 03:31
so far this year GT5 has sold over 700k now compare that to forza 4's stunningly shite 300k, lol the game metacritic rated higher has poorer sales, from now on i think it'll be a wise idea not to mention metacritic score's other wise prepare to get burnt. GT5 FTW.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/08/2012, 10:30
GT5 sold over 1M only in UK... BEST SELLING GT IN UK EVER!!!
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 10/08/2012, 03:34
My prediction is ~11.5m in 2016/2017.
Message | Report
shanbcn posted 05/08/2012, 02:24
GT4 still sells even after all those years. So GT5 passing 10 million is a given, but can it pass 11 million?
Message | Report
SunofKratos posted 05/08/2012, 09:28
So with the Academy Edition anounced and the holidays upon us i think its a safe bet to say that Gran Turismo 5 will pass the 9 Million goal soon. 10 Million still possible depends when next gen starts and the next Gran Turismo Title release.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 01/08/2012, 06:11
@fauzman this week it sold 17,689... it not slowed
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 01/08/2012, 01:13
@ fauzman: GT4 slowed to a similar rate in the same time frame. Look where it sits today.

GT games don't follow any other pattern but their own. With the new edition coming to EU this Fall, the game will be doing 20-30K a week again.
Message | Report
IEATBABIES posted 31/07/2012, 05:39
By September it should be at 8 million.
Message | Report
fauzman posted 27/07/2012, 10:17
This seems to have slowed down a lot in recent months. It may not reach 9M at this rate.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 26/07/2012, 07:05
Finally the re-release in Europe... welcome Academy Edition.
Message | Report
SOLIDSNAKE08 posted 25/07/2012, 03:09
how the hell did a racing game end up selling so much?
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 24/07/2012, 10:55
@crissindahouse is it cause you cant handle the truth, sorry pal but unless im flame baiting, trolling or generally being very offensive i cannot be reported unlucky.

Now time to face the truth GT5 got a lower score on metacritic however that's not what the industry bases it's score's on while forza 4 may have got a higher score it's the sales that does all the talking, forza 4 will need to sell over 5m more to overtake GT5 and you know quite simply that's just not going to happen.

now obviously yo cant handle the truth so all you can do rather than try to argue your case you would prefer to just ask people to report somone for having a solid well structured argumnet.

Face it GT5 wins end of argument
Message | Report
crissindahouse posted 11/07/2012, 06:34
@ cgi

great to give all these report tips but you gave general the tip who is freaking out most here. just look at his wall or the forza site 4. so maybe you should give people the tip to report general?
Message | Report
Ganoncrotch posted 11/07/2012, 08:34
@riku148 maybe if the roster wasn't filled with models from the ps1 and ps2 games it wouldn't be quite as large? I rather my games to have a standard lvl of graphics and detail across all the models.
Message | Report
Riku148 posted 10/07/2012, 08:53
I have now both GT5 and Forza 4 and i must say that GT5 wins because it has a much better and realistic handling, and more cars and tracks
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 06/07/2012, 03:06
@ General

Just report "alt" (as we'll call him) and move on. Not worth your time to debate with someone on an obvious agenda.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 06/07/2012, 06:49
lol its nice to know how easy it is to spot the mythical creatures, there all in denial ' what was that argument you were using a few years ago for 360 sales oh that it 'sales doesn't meant quality but it does equal the winner' so by using that logic GT5 wins END OF ARGUMENT.
Message | Report
Frozone posted 04/07/2012, 05:49
@General I can remain as cocky as I want as this site doesnt have IP banning I know that because id have been Ip banned months upon months ago yet I can still keep coming back. thats the difference between this site and proper gaming websites.

lol @ CGI being mad though.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 03/07/2012, 03:34
Guys, no need to reply to Syndrome. Ignore and report, it will be dealt with.
Message | Report
crissindahouse posted 03/07/2012, 08:12
*where i want
Message | Report
crissindahouse posted 03/07/2012, 08:12
woah forza or gt i can look here i want that guy genera1mld won't stop posting the same s... everywhere. and if you click his name, you will see, even in his profile he doesn't stop with it^^
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 03/07/2012, 04:48
lol maybe they will ban your ip then lets see just how cocky you get then. by the way this topic is about gt5, neither halo killzone cod or what ever other game you care to mention has any relevance to GT5 at all, forza got mentioned as its the 360's answer to GT though its a poor mans GT.
Message | Report
Syndrome posted 02/07/2012, 03:56
No im still here, I always come back, only takes a minute.

@General I don't really care about Forza, let me guess you thought because of my comments on GT5 you assumed I must own a Xbox right, how cliche. If you wanna go that route though you could say no Killzone game has sold 3 million and not even half of Halo.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 02/07/2012, 02:22
Guess Murray won't be back to comment when GT5's sales have seen their last days.

Can't imagine what happened. :P
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 30/06/2012, 12:42
lol did somone get banned for being a mythical creature, usually found under bridges beginning wht the letter T lmfao, understand the rules of the site buddy or GTFO PERMANENTLY.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 30/06/2012, 12:40
lol @ thats cheating though, forza is one of many 360 titles that gets heavily bundled especially in the run up to an during the holidays however even with heavy bundling no forza game to date has even managed to reach the lowest selling full retail GT game on PS1,PS2 or even PS3 (note full retail does not include any prologue or concept edition's or include the PSP version as there is no xbox handheld console), face the truth no forza game on the current gen xbox will ever sell 7 million let alone 10 million.
Message | Report
Syndrome posted 29/06/2012, 05:03
But thats cheating though.
Message | Report
thehusbo posted 27/06/2012, 09:02
@murray I reckon on its own steam gt5 will sell 9million+. It's still selling well each week. If bundled as much as forza is, it will have no problem reaching 10million.
Message | Report
The_Murray posted 27/06/2012, 11:44
Never said I was a great Sony fan either I said I owned a PS3, another reading comprehension fail. You on the other hand we both know is a GT fanboy so of course you need to rush to its rescue but no this games never selling 10 million.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 26/06/2012, 02:10
@ The_Murray: And here you are yet again, claiming to be some great Sony fan, while bashing something related to it (shock and awe).....

When the game is finished selling, come back and comment. No need to give you a history of the GT series though, your world consumes you more than it should.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 23/06/2012, 01:01
7.64 million in under 2 years lol name 1 forza game thats sold more than that, in fact name any other racer this gen thats sold more than that !
Message | Report
The_Murray posted 22/06/2012, 02:56
I knew it was never going to sell 10 million.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 16/06/2012, 07:59
sorry about the "achievement" joke lol but its 1 achievement the 360 will never have.
Message | Report
Turkish posted 15/06/2012, 03:57
With the total sales of GT5+GT5 Prologue retail and PSN sales are somewhere around 13 million already!
Message | Report
Turkish posted 15/06/2012, 03:56
This game will reach 10 million by the end of 2013 or early 2014.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 15/06/2012, 12:55
sorry jac0b but GT5 came out platinum last year but still continues to sell like it a new title released just a few months ago, forza fanboys can only dream of success like that and people like "sales2099" are still in denial.

just over 5 months have past when GT5 had sold 7.2 million, now its 7.6 million well done PD, 400k sold in 5 months on a game that came out 21 months ago i an achievement 360 gamers will never get lol, all forza 4 could get was 220k on a game that came out just 9 months ago.

good metacritic score = over rated game.
Message | Report
Jac0b posted 26/05/2012, 10:44
Great marketing by the way Sony, your biggest market EUROPE is the only region which hasn't got a re-release.
Message | Report
-girgosz- posted 21/05/2012, 05:35
Got a feeling it won't ;)
Message | Report
Jac0b posted 20/05/2012, 12:04
Got a feeling this is going to get stuck at 9m
Message | Report
SunofKratos posted 14/05/2012, 05:19
Another 25k. 8 million by years end is going to happen.Maybe even 8.5.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 05/05/2012, 05:10
its been a while since i commented but in january GT5 had sold around 7.25 million now its close to 7.5 million and yet the forza fanboys still insist forza will top 3 million by the end of the year, lol apart from living in a dream world that sales guy who always turns to metacritc when hes losing a battle he simply cant win, 160k forza 4 has sold in the last 4 months compared to GT5's 250k, for a game that came out a year earlier and still sell better than a new game just shows a 90% metacritic score doesnt mean shit.
Message | Report
Colocho posted 29/04/2012, 06:26
This game is a BEAST!! It just keeps on selling like hot cakes!!! at this rate, 10Mil seems possible!
Message | Report
shanbcn posted 29/04/2012, 12:08
LTD at the end of the year will be around 8.5m, so it may reach 10m by early 2014.
Message | Report
Heavenly_King posted 20/04/2012, 05:57
so far so good!! LTD 10-11M
Message | Report
Cold Light posted 18/04/2012, 01:58
Almost 7.5 million and counting, very nice! 8 million this holiday season?

Fantastic experience despite a few flaws. I wish I had more time to spend with this game.

Hope GT6 will see the light on the next generation system and PD will blow our minds again, best wishes to Yamauchi and his guys ;)
Message | Report
SunofKratos posted 16/04/2012, 09:23
Nah im too late for the party but i will hepl Gran Turismo 6 to be a 10 million seller on the PS4.
Message | Report
SnakeDrake posted 12/04/2012, 07:36
Come on people make this Sony's first PS3 exclusive to reach 10 mill
Message | Report
enditall727 posted 25/03/2012, 08:33
i think some people just don't want GT5 to hit 10 mill ;)
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 18/03/2012, 06:08
31,257 units this week.
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 14/03/2012, 08:54
Using the same decrease percentage for its yearly sales as prologue had , u can estimate sales over 1.0 million for gt5s 3rd year putting it well past 8 million by years end and that's assuming it's not bundled anymore than it was in 2011. Should pass gt2 in 2013/2014. And then the crawl to 10 million , gt4 is STILL doing ~100k+ a year. So I have no doubt gt5 will eventually hit 10 million but it would be nice if it got a euro bundle possibly with FIFA 12 for a 2012 holiday push.
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 14/03/2012, 04:00
all i have to say is forza 3 combined with forza 4 and both still cannot top GT5's total sales lol, guess the only ones here saying its not that "Great" are the people suffering with CFS (console fanboy syndrome) :p
Message | Report
nen-suer posted 13/03/2012, 10:36
This is still doing great...i'm impressed!
Message | Report
atma998 posted 12/03/2012, 10:15
@ethomaz, read again my last comment and you will easily find out why these numbers cannot be considered ''great'', I think it was pretty well explained...or you can continue being blind again and understand only what you want to understand. Your choice!
Message | Report
SunofKratos posted 11/03/2012, 10:25
This game has awesome legs. I live in switzerland and all i can tell you is that this game never was heavenly bundled. It got a bundle on release year but that was all.
All other Gran Turismo games were heavenly bundled but not this one. All i can say is wow at the sales of this game. If this get to 10 million without much bundling than this is another proof that the Gran Turismo Brand is still very strong.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 11/03/2012, 08:39
lol 2 million on year is not great? 250k in two months is not great? New games not sell that.
Message | Report
Carl posted 11/03/2012, 03:57
Wonder if this Holiday will finally see it with a major bundle...
Message | Report
atma998 posted 10/03/2012, 10:36
@ethomaz 2 million on year 2 is not great, specially when the game has been launched in December the previous year and 250k in two months with all new editions and bundles is not great either. Speaking of eating crow, you're the one who predicted 15M lol. As for my prediction, you can find it on this page I predicted 8-8.5M and even mention 9M is possible.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 10/03/2012, 07:39
Sold 22,234 this week.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 10/03/2012, 07:33
@atma998 GT5 sold near 2 million last year... .this year it already 250k in two months... I expect 1.2-1.5 million in 2012... more 0.8-1.1 million in 2013... 10 million for sure in 2014... and most people here predicted GT5 to shell less than 7 million... it already made people like you eat crow.
Message | Report
VGKing posted 10/03/2012, 07:09
Should definitely reach 10mil within the next 2-3 years.
This is selling better than GTA IV in the same time period. GTA IV is already in at 9mil and will reach 10 sometime in 2013.
Message | Report
WebMasterFlex posted 10/03/2012, 09:12
PS3 games are long term sells. Look at LittleBigPlanet,, it's going 5 million, I remember many people said it won't reach 2. Same with U2 & U3 which will go 6 for U2 and 7 ofr U3
Message | Report
WebMasterFlex posted 10/03/2012, 09:08
"Honestly I don't see how it can reach 10M" I Can see it but it will take time. New PS3 buyers in Europe oftenly take GT5 with.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 09/03/2012, 10:34
GT5 did not even sold 500k in the past 4 or 5 months and this includes holiday sales, new spec II version, new XL edition and bundles in several european countries. Honestly I don't see how it can reach 10M. Sales tend to decrease with time not increase. I would be curious to hear about this...but please don't come with the heavy bundling scenario! lol
Message | Report
atma998 posted 09/03/2012, 10:22
@AnarchyWest I don't care about the game but about the sales. A lot of people predicted some crazy numbers in the past few years and now that they are proved wrong, it's interesting to come here and see what they are thinking now. Unfortunately most of them are still in delusion. Btw I own a PS2 and I'm also a PC gamer :)
Message | Report
WebMasterFlex posted 09/03/2012, 09:22
10 million in 2 years probably. PS3 still have 5 years to live I think. I wouldn't be surprise if GT6 come out on PS3.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 09/03/2012, 02:51
@ Anarchy: I wouldn't waste the time. No matter what the game sells, it will have doubters and cheerleaders. I jumped out of this debate long ago realizing that the game has already done what it needed to for Sony (while still ahead of it's most recent predecessor), was more than a blast to play, and I await GT6 - be it for PS3 or 4.
Message | Report
AnarchyWest posted 09/03/2012, 01:14
atma998 as someone who is exclusive to nintendo why do you care so much about GT5 so much?
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 06/03/2012, 04:05
@ieatbabies you're talking a load of rubbish, drop the fanboy crap you're lowering the tone for people who appretiate quality (GT5).
maybe 1 day forza might have sales that equel GT's only that wont happen for another 3 years minimum, yep thats right no forza 5 in 2 years turn 10 are working on a different game.

anyway rather than turn this into a debate about forza 4 as no one really gives a shit about it cause it doesnt pose a threat to GT5's sales can we move on.
thank you.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 06/03/2012, 03:57
It was first ''GT5 will be the best selling GT ever'' and then ''it will reach at least 10 million'', then ''it will reach 10 million LT'' and now ''probably reach 10 million one day'' lol

@ethomaz Is this not precisely what is going wrong, the game is only selling ''good'' while bundled, not great as a main franchise like GT should do. How many 25k weeks to reach 10 million again?
Message | Report
IEATBABIES posted 06/03/2012, 03:44
Turn 10 fan boys can inflate their ego's all they want by saying

"Forza is the best franchise ever, PS3 sux Gran Turismo 5 is poo" etc etc.

Fact of the matter is, Gran Turismo has history on each generation of Sony made consoles. Microsoft fan boys can only wish Turn 10 had Polyphony's sales. never will happen. Even if Turn 10 started at the same time as Polyphony, it wouldn't matter. It's like Microsoft fan boys only bought this game just to brag and yet Forza Motorsport 4 hasn't even hit 2 million. If it was the biggest thing since the coming of Jesus Christ it would have double what Gran Turismo 5 has. I'm not a Sony fan boy, but I'm just typing the truth.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 05/03/2012, 03:15
25k this week... selling like first year of good games.
Message | Report
WebMasterFlex posted 05/03/2012, 08:41
lol that is all what you got ? Bundled in France ? GT always sell a lot. GT5 is doing the same, it will probably reach 10 million one day.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 03/03/2012, 12:00
Still bundled...
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 02/03/2012, 05:02
@atma998 I think the bundle is just for France.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 02/03/2012, 01:21
@dsage01 GT5 is currently bundled in Europe.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 26/02/2012, 03:29
Forza 4 might be able to do another 3 million but only with massive bundling just like how Forza 2, 3 and now Forza 4 are being bundled heavily. Really GT5 has hardly even being bundled and your comparing it to a game that only sells by being extensivley bundled? Even with the extensive bndling and large marketing Forza 4 won't be able to come near the GT franchise. There's a reason why it can still sell 30k a week without bundling.
Message | Report
WebMasterFlex posted 26/02/2012, 07:33
This game is going to do 10 million. Do not want to troll but Forza 4 can't even reach GT5 Prologue sells
Message | Report
Alby_da_Wolf posted 24/02/2012, 10:19
Ooops! I was quite late.
Message | Report
Alby_da_Wolf posted 24/02/2012, 12:18
Didn't anybody notice PD updated again its shipments numbers? GT5 is now 7.43M as of Dec 2011, previously, IIRC, it was 7.3M as of Sep 2011. So PD did some more shipments since then, and even though they surely shipped some more than necessary, as nobody sane would risk shortages for Xmas, shouldn't at least those previous 7.3M be all sold to end users by now?
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 19/02/2012, 11:20
i still think some people are stupid, isnt the right michael-5, just gotta love the comments you left on forza 4 eh "I think Forza 4 will get another 3 million sales, that should make the sales difference between 3 Forza's and 3 GT's almost nothing. Good observation, surprised for being a smaller name, Forza can still match GT in sales. Guess the quality difference got to people." and not forgetting "Compensating? and people say I write a lot.Forza 4 is still the best Sim this gen, sales =/= quality, and brand names are for fools." lmfao.
Message | Report
miqdadi posted 19/02/2012, 08:11
I still think 10M within reach, Just look at the prologue sales, the least this can do is 8M

Message | Report
Dahum posted 18/02/2012, 08:02
not to forget i didn't purchase my own copy yet which i will very soon;)
Message | Report
Dahum posted 18/02/2012, 08:00
this game is in another league of its own when it comes to the sales.... this game is so popular & has great legs and according to its sales pattern it will surpass 10 million copies and maybe reach 11 million considering the PS4 isn't coming anytime soon according to Sony which will give plenty of room for GT5 unlike GT4.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 17/02/2012, 01:56
@Michael... I already lost this battle
Message | Report
Michael-5 posted 17/02/2012, 01:46
Ocarina of Time got adjusted down 600k....how can you research the root cause, VGC staff aren't telling us anything......still going to loose our bet, 7 weeks of data left, 1.3 million to go!
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/02/2012, 12:13
@Ethomaz Don't know which version of all these games you have looked at but none of the ones I have looked got adjusted down by 100-300k. Also how can you verify this? Can you provide me links of adjustment of a game that has been adjusted for example?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/02/2012, 12:13
@Ethomaz Don't know which version of all these games you have looked at but none of the ones I have looked got adjusted down by 100-300k. Also how can you verify this? Can you provide me links of adjustment of a game that has been adjusted for example?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 15/02/2012, 10:55
@atma998 MW3, Skrym, Batman, FIFA, Zelda, Mario, etc... etc... almost all game has been adjusted... the TOP20 from last week is all adjusted down... If I'm not wrong just one game was adjusted UP.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 14/02/2012, 03:52
@ethomaz I looked more than 10 other big titles and no one got adjusted down... What do you mean by ''almost all games'' ? Which one got adjusted down?
Message | Report
Cold Light posted 13/02/2012, 07:57
Soon it will pass NFS: Underground (best seller of NFS franchise at 7.20 M) and become 9th best selling racing game of all time. Nice ;)

How much time will this game take to hit 8 M copies? About one year?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/02/2012, 12:18
@atma998 almost all games were adjusted 100-300k down this week... I thing that's some thing about the VGC algorithm for estimate the unknown countries sales... I'm still researching the root cause .
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 11/02/2012, 02:45
@ ethomaz: Should do a bit higher than normal (20k) levels for a bit.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 11/02/2012, 01:45
Adjusted down by 90k by the way...
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 10/02/2012, 01:20
48k this week... really nice.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 09/02/2012, 03:12
@ethomaz

Probably with the new japanese Spec II version, european bundles and XL edition in NA.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 08/02/2012, 03:42
21k this week just in Japan... near 50k WW?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 07/02/2012, 10:26
@osamanobama

No, the utterly ridiculous one here is you since you're the one who does not get the fact that there was indeed hundreds of thousand units on shelves ready for Q4 sales. Now that the holidays are over there are still around 300k+ units on shelves which is also OK and yes overtracking is also possible unless you're too much of a fanboy to recognize it. That said, I was indeed right but I don't expect you or people like you to admit it anyway.
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 07/02/2012, 06:49
you realize this has been adjusted up recently, also no you were wrong, they shipped more after September. and you were claiming it was overtracked, utterly ridiculous.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 07/02/2012, 03:41
Seems I was right after all :)
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 06/02/2012, 01:54
Shipment update: http://gamrconnect.vgchartz.com/thread.php?id=139657 (7.43m by Dec 2011)
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 04/02/2012, 05:34
Anyone notice that VG adjusted both GT4 and the original GT? Both are over 11 million now. With that, GT5 will likely be the 4th best selling one (it's #5 right now).
Message | Report
enditall727 posted 04/02/2012, 07:52
only 2,784,667 to go ;)
Message | Report
thehusbo posted 03/02/2012, 07:07
Amazing sales! Just keeps going along..
Message | Report
pezus posted 03/02/2012, 04:29
Epic legs!!
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 03/02/2012, 03:59
Over 30k this week (in January = EPIC)
Message | Report
Santacruz posted 31/01/2012, 05:44
new bundle in france include gran turismo 5 =)

http://www.amazon.fr/gp/product/B006WQPDAI/ref=s9_simh_gw_p63_d2_g63_i4?pf_rd_m=A1X6FK5RDHNB96&pf_rd_s=center-2&pf_rd_r=1K18JRH9MS6FRB3QEB9T&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=463375533&pf_rd_i=405320

maybe it get a small boost in france then :D
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 31/01/2012, 02:23
@Genera1MLD I'm playing the game... a lot... and the people here cares about GT5 like every other gamer except you .
Message | Report
Genera1MLD posted 30/01/2012, 09:08
i couldnt care less what position its in, just play the game rather than spending all your time here fighting fanboys.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 30/01/2012, 01:51
Again in almost every chart in Europe... 34th in UK.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 29/01/2012, 04:45
26k this week
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 26/01/2012, 08:25
I would expect 7.4 million by now. According to VGC we haven't even surpassed out first shipment (Europe) and now they decided to ship a couple hundred grand more copies? And this is data as of Spetember 2011 where the sales were still surfing at 6 million. So I think as of this date the sales should be:
Europe: 4.1 million (off track)
Japan: 600k + (on track)
North America: 1.8 million (on track)
Global: 7.4 million (Extra 900k for the rest of the world) *Overtracked by 250k*
I could be slightly off however I'm basing these on VGC, Media Crate, NPD, chart track and PD. It is severly undertracked in Germany, U.K. with the data we've got so far. More data will come soon.
Message | Report
Jansky8 posted 25/01/2012, 11:08
So ethomaz at how much would you estimate the globale sales?
Message | Report
ioi posted 24/01/2012, 10:11
"Note, data for this region is incomplete."
Message | Report
Boutros posted 24/01/2012, 03:18
roflmao
Message | Report
Aj_habfan posted 24/01/2012, 12:33
Calm down now
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 24/01/2012, 12:24
GT5 sold more than 500k in Germany too... http://gamrconnect.vgchartz.com/thread.php?id=139114
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 24/01/2012, 12:08
Seems undertracked in UK... GFK shows it selling 200k+ in 2011... VGC shows 91k.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 24/01/2012, 12:03
New sales page... COOL!
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 23/01/2012, 06:30
The page sales changed... 1,800,512 in 2011.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 23/01/2012, 02:41
Again in TOP40 UK chartz.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 21/01/2012, 04:18
@Fufinu yes... the game is GT5.
Message | Report
Fufinu posted 21/01/2012, 12:29
Will XL be counted as the same as this?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 20/01/2012, 11:57
Sold 19k this week... next week XL Edition boost.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 20/01/2012, 05:33
@jester2358 because the Platinum Edition launched in Sep... I guess when the shipment of Platinum was sold the XL/Spec 2.0 Edition will come to Europe.
Message | Report
pezus posted 20/01/2012, 04:40
Back to Europe top 40
Message | Report
Serious_frusting posted 20/01/2012, 04:02
lol at people who said this game would sell 6-7 million
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 20/01/2012, 03:13
Dlc support for this game is impressive , and I can't see gt6 being released on ps3, a ps4 launch title is more likely. PD is likely working on a vita GT. ethomaz is right on the shipments for Xl the next PD software update will be slightly inflated due to them shipping out the new edition . No idea why they aren't doing one in Europe
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 19/01/2012, 04:19
The new Seasonal Events are the hardest ever... I have to try and use so many car and modifications to win the race.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 19/01/2012, 04:17
The Lamborghini Aventador is another most to have in the game now... I played more than 5 hours of GT5 today just because the update and DLCs.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 19/01/2012, 04:16
The new SpeedTest using the Route X is Absolutely AWESOME! And the regenerative braking and other features added to electric cars make it even more realistic... PD even increased the sound of the game.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 19/01/2012, 04:13
About he sales in NA... the PD shipped 1,830k til end of September... I think the release of the XL Edition just show us the 1.8m shipped is already sold... more 300-500k for XL Edition in NA in this quarter (end of March)... so 2.5m is easy. And GT5 just for PS4... PD is adding more features and simulations for GT5 in each update... so the GT5 is definitive for PS3.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 19/01/2012, 04:09
@CGI I think the XL Edition will be counted here because the Spec III for GT5:P was counted in GT5:P and the PD never counted these editions like a new game.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 18/01/2012, 05:17
In fact, looking at Polyphony's site, it had already shipped 1.8 mill in the US by Sept 2011. So maybe 2.8 mill will be harder to reach, not impossible either way, but 2.3-2.5 mill should be feasible, barring a GT6 release on PS3.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 18/01/2012, 05:13
@ Ethomaz: I don't think the XL Edition will be counted here. Think it's getting a separate SKU here. Since you have, obviously, the best means of tracking GT5, what do you think?
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 18/01/2012, 05:11
@ atma: The US sales don't include the extrapolated (which I pointed out). Second, no need to tell people to "get rea;" just because you don't agree with them.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 18/01/2012, 12:40
@CGI USA sales are currently at 1.6M, there is no chance it reach 2.8M. The game is barely selling few thousands a week here in the US. Get real!
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 17/01/2012, 10:20
Should end off around GT4 sales here (2.8mill), although we can't see the US extrapolated sales for GT5.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 17/01/2012, 10:18
@ atma: XL Edition came out today in the States, but is irrelevant as the sales are fine.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 17/01/2012, 10:05
@ethomaz No, it was really 7.126M. But anyway 13k or 17k isnt a big deal of a difference...and still pretty low sales. Hopefully XL edition is around the corner.
Message | Report
gipsy_jack posted 17/01/2012, 08:43
Sales are 0 k in Japan since many week. I can't believe this.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 17/01/2012, 02:19
GT5 sold 17k this week.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 17/01/2012, 02:19
@atma998... 7.126 is rounded to 7.13... after adjustments the number showed here was 7.12 or 7.122... befere that it was 7.128... sorry your numbers are off.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/01/2012, 11:00
@ethomaz I took the numbers AFTER the adjustment of last week = 7.126M, then VGC added last week numbers = 13k, which makes the total sales = 7.139M.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/01/2012, 11:00
@ethomaz I took the numbers AFTER the adjustment of last week = 7.126M, then VGC added last week numbers = 13k, which makes the total sales = 7.139M.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 16/01/2012, 12:54
The is adjusted down 6k before this week... the number was 1.22m.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 14/01/2012, 05:23
The game was at 7,126M after the adjustment of last week and is now at 7,139M. 7,139M - 7,126M = 13k...no?
Message | Report
John_Doe posted 14/01/2012, 10:42
lol 13k here is top 4 (biggest videogame store in spain) below MW3, hdmi cable and a headset http://www.game.es/
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 14/01/2012, 03:23
Anyway... where did you got that 13k???
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 14/01/2012, 03:22
@atma998 sold 17,989 last week or the week before XL Edition release... next week good sales again.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 13/01/2012, 10:14
Sold 13k last week.
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 13/01/2012, 02:11
still undertracked.... by a lot. just wait for PD to update their numbers
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/01/2012, 12:19
atma998 VGC overtracked 360 by 1 million in December... these numbers ans other for software are wrong... waiting more adjustments... even for GT5.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 12/01/2012, 11:28
but, but... it's impossible, this game cannot be overtracked!!! Now can we just calm down and trust VCG instead of stating each week it's undertracked. VGC know their stuff....better than all of us!
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 12/01/2012, 10:16
Yeap... down 6,689 in December.
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 12/01/2012, 04:52
this just got adjusted down?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 11/01/2012, 06:09
Guys... more content to GT5: http://gamrconnect.vgchartz.com/thread.php?id=138678
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 11/01/2012, 06:09
@jester2358 nothing for europe yet... anyway the Platinum editium is new there.
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 11/01/2012, 02:28
thanks for the info ethomaz, if it has the re5gold effect it might make gt5 pass 1 million in japan. any confirmation on a similar re-release in europe?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 10/01/2012, 11:45
@ethomaz you're right about the 6.62M (I diddnt know how to retrieve old sales data), however it doesnt change my point as 680k is also very plausible. As for the 1.3M, I don't think the adjustment was that big (1.3M - 680k = 620k) but anyway I don't get the point of bringing back this number (1.3M) as it does not make part of the calculation anymore.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 10/01/2012, 04:53
My mistake... the japanese version is set to release in 12th Febuary.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 10/01/2012, 04:53
@jester2358 the Spec II Japan version is confirmed to release in 20th January.
Message | Report
Heavenly_King posted 10/01/2012, 04:38
GO GT5!!! hopefully with XL edition by the end of the year, will reach 10M XD
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 09/01/2012, 10:34
Xl edition should give it a good boost, hopefully they release that edition in Europe and Japan as well . I wonder if it will do as well as re5s gold edition in Japan .
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 09/01/2012, 06:18
yes thnking this game is overtraked and not undertracked is stupid. you are right
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 09/01/2012, 01:23
@atma998... here: http://www.vgchartz.com/weekly/40818/Global/ and the GT5 was been adjusted in the last three weeks... before that when the PD numbers was updated the shipped/sold gap for End of Sep was 1.3m... today (after adjustments) is 680k... I'm not giving my opinion here just showing raw data (VGC and PD).
Message | Report
Ham_Burgular posted 09/01/2012, 12:51
Fifas European sales are much more impressive than this games.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 09/01/2012, 06:27
@osamanobama: We agree on this!
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 09/01/2012, 05:45
the stupidity in this thread is unbelievable
Message | Report
atma998 posted 09/01/2012, 03:28
@Ethomaz Where did you get your 6.62M? And where are you taking your 1.3M too?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 09/01/2012, 03:08
@atma998 a little help: 7.3m (PD) - 6.62m (VGC) = 680k... that's after adjustments... before the shipped/sold gag was 1.3m.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 08/01/2012, 06:06
Jeez, no one is talking about 1.3M!!! PD says they have shipped 7.3M as of September, at that time VGC tracked about 6.75M sold or so which means about 550k copies on shelves at that time, which makes sense, considering the franchise and the holiday boost just around the corner. The game may even be overtracked! Honestly you guys are just way too much! I never changed my line of thinking. I guess it's impossible to put some sense into you as you will always claim the game is undertracked no matter what... At least just stop pulling out numbers from a hat or talking about ''fact'' without any proof to back it up, that way you will all lmore credible!
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 07/01/2012, 10:25
@atma998: So in September it would make sense to have 1,3M of inventorie but now 170k is the stock and is also normal??? Please what is normal for you? To change the line of thinking from one post to another even if they are only a few minutes apart?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 07/01/2012, 09:49
@obamanobama Can you please provide links of your so-called ''facts''?
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 07/01/2012, 07:02
so a game that sells 60k a week during the Christmas season and 25k during the rest of the year will have hundreds of thousands of copies sitting on shelves, and stores will just accept this? taking up precious space on shelves and inventory. and Sony will just ship 6 months of supply because the can, with no need to make another shipment? its brand new games, that sell 100k copies per week that have hundreds of thousands on shelves not games that sell a 1/3 of that. im telling you for a fact that Sony did not ship 6 months worth of Gt5. im telling you for a FACT that it has sold that shipment, its been more than 3 months. im telling you for a fact that Sony has made another shipment since (one stores would not accept if there were still 100's of thousands of copies on shelves.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 07/01/2012, 04:49
@dsage01 Please stop making a fool of yourselves. 7.3M-7.13M = 170k. Sony might have shipped some more games since September but nowhere near a million that's for sure. As for the Europe numbers, this is very obvious VGC and PD do not track Europe the same way. As far as global sales goes VGC seems right on the spot... So call me a hater as long as you want, now you're just proving us that you are either totally blind or just unable to understand basic logic. It must be hard to be such a supporter...
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 07/01/2012, 03:57
@ Colocho: It's actually ahead of GT4 by a good amount in aligned times. Whether or not it reches GT4's lifetime is still up for debate, but a bundle here or there would ensure it.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 07/01/2012, 01:01
It's obvious that this is horribly undertracked in Europe.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 07/01/2012, 01:00
@atma998 1.2 million on shelves according to 3 month old data! Either you really hate this game or you love to hate on the PS3 and PS3 games (Which I have seen you do earlier). Really there is no use arguing with you. We're only going to waste our time.
Message | Report
Colocho posted 07/01/2012, 12:29
How is this game tracking compared to GT4?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 06/01/2012, 11:49
@osamanobama: As I replied to you earlier, games like GT5 have indeed several hundreds of thousand copies sitting on shelves as they are available in larger quantity and in much more locations too. We can see huge discrepencies between shipped and sale figures for all major releases of the big three and other big third party titles as well. You can easily find out by yourself in comparing numbers reported by these companies with actual VGC numbers. But maybe it's easier for you to just being in a denial mode.
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 06/01/2012, 10:33
recent shipped numbers? you mean numbers that are over 3 months old, of which according to this site they still havent sold, nor will they until March.... 6 months after the shipment. it looks spot on to you because you are delusional. why would they ship enough copies of GT5 to last them 6 months without the need to make even 1 more shipment. Why would stores want hundreds of thousands of copies of GT5 on their shelves when it will is selling less than 60k per week, and soon less than 40k. know with GT5 XL coming out, they will have like what 500k+ sitting on shelves? logic is a good thing, use it.
Message | Report
John_Doe posted 05/01/2012, 04:19
RECENT shipped numbers??
Message | Report
Santacruz posted 04/01/2012, 10:27
@kowenicki 1m in europe on shelves ur right!
Message | Report
kowenicki posted 04/01/2012, 07:11
Why do people compare RECENT shipped numbers with sell through.... lol. Software ship for medium term future demand. It doesn't ship units per unit sold through. Think. Sales look pretty spot on to me.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 03/01/2012, 03:18
It shipped 4.5 million in Europe and sold less than 3.4 million? And its still in the top 40 in most/some European charts. It's almost certainly undertracked in Europe.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 03/01/2012, 03:15
Possible undertracked in Europe and overtracked in the "others cataogry. I doubt it sold over 1.4 million over there.
Message | Report
UnknownFact posted 31/12/2011, 09:01
t*
Message | Report
UnknownFact posted 31/12/2011, 09:00
My brother just bough it.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 31/12/2011, 05:23
7.15 million by the end of this year.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 31/12/2011, 03:27
65,629 this week.
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 31/12/2011, 12:41
undertracked by around 250k
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 31/12/2011, 12:15
Byt the way it seems it sould 70k this week, I hoped for more this month to reach at least 7,25M as a middle point of my prevision back in january (between 7~7,5M) but it's okay it'll keep seeling... if after New Year it can keep more than 10k weekly then it sure is HUGE LEGS
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 31/12/2011, 12:13
@atma998: Sure they will. And I still think it's possible (maybe need some bundling), but to be assured it is impossible to reach 10M I can't agree... and as ethomaz said first the PD data that is updated refers to a previous period (September I think is what he said).
Message | Report
atma998 posted 30/12/2011, 09:59
@DonFerrari Don't worry VGC will update if there is indeed overtracking/undertracking as they did in the past. As of now PD published their numbers two weeks ago and there is still no update so maybe they were just spot on, don't you think? As for the 10M, well I honestly don't have anything more to say as the weekly numbers are speaking for themselves...won't reach it for sure without any big bundle but be free to think it will reach 10 or even 15 million like some other user here, I don't really care.
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 30/12/2011, 11:33
1 year after release do you think 6 months of supply is common? So ok more power to you... because as it seems here you are the one that know all, because everybody else have another opinion... But I guess it's more your hope that GT5 never sells 10M than the reality... and you mix games that sell 5M, 10M and 25M as the same range of shelve stock after one year??? I can't see a game selling 20k and another selling 100k needing the same stock, seriously... and I don't know how to track, but everytime community complained about undertracking and people like you said it was because of stock (PS3 having 2M and Xbox 360 having 200k were normal for those guys) after 1 or 2 months VGC corrects the sales closer to reality, but be blind if you want.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 28/12/2011, 09:50
@DonFerrari: Read again, it's the same thing for any other big titles, but I guess you know more than VGC how to track game sales...so nevermind.
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 28/12/2011, 10:33
@atma998: If GT5 had 1M in inventaries along the world during february to july I could understand because they could be left overs from holiday season / debut... but to have this many in shelves when the game sells around 20k a week, more than 6 months of sales sitting on shelves doesn't see that accurate... but whatever any spin you can give to say GT5 numbers is bad or to prove it's IMPOSSIBLE for it to hit 10M without BIG BUNDLING you do... so nevermind.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 26/12/2011, 04:20
@osamanobama Absolutely and it's the same pattern for every other games. Every other big games (Halo, Mario, Skyrim, CoD, Pokemon, WSR, etc.) have several hundreds of thousand copies sitting on shelves as they are available in larger quantity and in much more locations too. Unfortunately, no knowledgeable VGC user on this page will tell you this truth even if they know that because of some poor and blinded fanboyism.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 26/12/2011, 03:52
@atma998. End of September. 7.3 million shipped - 6.6 million sold (the was adjusted UP again) = .700k on shelves... now it's fine (after adjustments).
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 26/12/2011, 06:07
@atm so you are saying that they shipped 7.3 million as of 3 months ago, and still havent sold though that shipment, and at the pace its going now it wont sell all of that shipment until past march of next year. so you are saying they have shipped enough supply to last them 6 months, and that this site is OVER-tracking this game? that is just nuts. that means they woud have absolutely no need to ship even 1 more copy of GT5 until March 2012. and stores will have just hundreds of thousands of copies of GT5 sitting on the store shelves for 6 months, and not recieve another shipment. its very clear that this game has sold more than 7.3 million. and when this site will show thats this games sales to be around 7.1 million by the end of the year, and the games september shipments to be 7.3 million, and then PD will show its December shipments t be over 7.6 million, what will you say? will it still be over tracked?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 23/12/2011, 10:06
@Ethomaz: Again, 7.3M - 6.96M = 340k copies on shelves, plus what have been shipped since September. No one is talking about 1.4 million except yourself. On another note, the game weekly sales went down to 60k this week but still allowed the game to reach 7 million! Now 8 million will be a looooooong road.
Message | Report
Ham_Burgular posted 23/12/2011, 03:26
Not bad.
Message | Report
thehusbo posted 23/12/2011, 03:23
7million :) well deserved!
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 23/12/2011, 03:04
1.4 million on shelves is ok just for launched titles.
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 22/12/2011, 11:37
lol
Message | Report
atma998 posted 22/12/2011, 10:14
@Jester Did I say ''few'' hundred thousands? No, I said ''several'' hundred thousand, which could imply 1 million and more. Please learn to read.
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 22/12/2011, 06:16
which is it atma? do big games like gt5 have more than a million on shelves like you stated a few posts down or do they only have a few hundred thousand as your claiming now?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 21/12/2011, 09:48
Well even 1 year old big titles have several hundred thousands units on shelves. This is just common knowledge.
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 21/12/2011, 05:38
@atma is makes sense for skyrim to have millions on shelves considering its selling 900k+ a week. GT5...is not so those stocking numbers aren't needed.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 21/12/2011, 01:22
In Asia and "Global it looks overtracked (by 500k at least) But in Europe it looks undertracked by at least 600-650k based on PD's shipment info) I doubt retaliers would shipt in so many copies it even it even selling that well. Another factor to conisder is PD doesn't include, South, America, Austraila an Africa so maybe push the sales up 200k. Mind you theses are not actual sales I'm giving info of just estimates according to my calculations. We will just have to wait for the next PD shipment numbers to come out.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 21/12/2011, 01:11
Sorry change that to 100-150k.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 21/12/2011, 01:10
Probably undertracked by 300k - 400k ust an estimate though. Most likely in Europe
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 20/12/2011, 10:45
I have no idea... launch titles have more in channel than old titles... GT5 is a old title with new versions coming (Spec II, Platinum)... so the units in shelves is lesser than new lunched titles... and for other big games I don't know because just PD show the shipped figures, no other company do the same thing.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 20/12/2011, 10:02
@Ethomaz Yes this is my argument to explain the discrepancy between both Europe numbers as this is the one making sense. But I don't expect someone like you or jester to understand this as you knopw that the game would be undertracked even before PD numbers came out. Oh and you did not answer my question... how many copies do you think other big first party or any other major titles are sitting on shelves? I give you a clue: Skyrim has shipped 10 million unit and sold less than 7 million so far...
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 20/12/2011, 09:01
obviously not all the million plus are sold , but I'd say we are at least a few hundred thousand short here if not more. but alas we have to wait for the next PD shipment info to once again silence the haters and more importantly cure my curiosity.
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 20/12/2011, 08:49
ah yes thank you ethomaz for the correction, forgot the shipment was from september. I would guess that since the americas and japan seem to have sold through on their shipments since then that europe would be close to doing the same.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 20/12/2011, 04:06
Just to you know... VGC adjusted every week of GT5 for accuracy and still seems under.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 20/12/2011, 04:05
@atma998 that's your argument for 1.4 million on shelves just in Europe???
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 20/12/2011, 04:03
@jester2358 for end of september VGC had GT5 at 3,084,509 in Europe (http://www.vgchartz.com/weekly/40818/Europe/)... so 1.4 million on shelves... undertracked.
Message | Report
postofficebuddy posted 20/12/2011, 01:09
6.96 is what we have it at now. The PD numbers are as of September. We had it at about 6.5 million back then. And a lot more have been shipped out since then anyway because September was before the launch of the GT5/Uncharted 2 bundle in Europe.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 20/12/2011, 12:22
VGC Europe doesnt count as many countries as PD Europe obviously.
Message | Report
jester2358 posted 19/12/2011, 11:30
its actually 4.5M-3.3M = more than a million on shelves in europe, according to PDs numbers.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 19/12/2011, 10:09
@Ethomaz, 7.3M - 6.96M = 340k copies on shelves, plus what have been shipped since September. Tracking seems just fine to me. But I won't be surprised if overtracked as a game like GT5 can easily have 1 million copies on shelves. How many copies do you think other big first party games (Halo, Mario, etc.) are sitting on shelves?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 19/12/2011, 01:45
@atma998 Do you thing there are more than 1 million on shelves just in Europe??? That's the diff between VGC and PD... so undertracked in Europe is my bet.
Message | Report
sub-zero-TM posted 18/12/2011, 01:56
Awesome numbers! 9-10m lifetime! best selling racing game of this gen?
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 18/12/2011, 01:05
Don't forget that if you sum Prologue to GT5 5,3+7,3 in PD site you will have a total of 12,6... So it's possible for GT5 to become the best selling of them all.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 17/12/2011, 10:11
Oops, typed too fast. I mean, it will get a bundle of some sort and reach 10 million, but it will do the majority of its sales without a significant bundle. Still doesn't mean it's somehow selling bad (especially when both PS2 GTs were bundled, much more so than GT5 thus far).
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 17/12/2011, 10:08
@ atma; I've actually said numerous times that I expected a bundle down the road. No, I don't think it needs as much bundling as you think, but I don't think it will get/need some bundle to reach 10 million. Then again, very few title reach 10 million at all without some form of bundling, so that's not really an issue. It's otten to 7 million without too much hassle. For me, it's glass half full buddy.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 17/12/2011, 07:33
@CGI Happy to see that you have changed your position and are now agreeing with me: GT5 won't reach 10M unless heavily bundled. Case closed.
Message | Report
Fame_Mcswagg posted 17/12/2011, 07:03
gtplanet has this game selling 7.3 million at this point
Message | Report
postofficebuddy posted 17/12/2011, 04:19
@CGI This will easily sell more than a million in 2012. Uncharted 2 will sell over a million in it's second full year and GT5 not only has better legs but a much higher overall sales baseline. And as you pointed out before Polyphony's shipments point to this being undertracked anyway, particularly in Europe.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 17/12/2011, 03:37
2012: Perhaps a million (barring a bundle). It probably won't clear 10 million eithout at least some hefty bundle, so 1 million in 2012, 4-500k in 2013 and by 2014 die off in response to the PS4 (8.5-9 million without bundling, beyond 10 million with it)..
Message | Report
atma998 posted 17/12/2011, 03:17
@CGI Ok let's do that. But just out of curiosity... how much do you think it will sell in 2012?
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 17/12/2011, 01:39
@ Janksy: GT4 wasn't this high in aligned time frames. It also had several meaningful bundles by this point as well. GT5 has one in Europe, but anywhere else. Also, GT5 Spec II is expected in Japan soon, so that should lift sales a little more.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 17/12/2011, 01:32
At this point, I am hnoestly tired of arguing in cirlces, stick to your theories and I'l stand by 10 million. Simple.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 17/12/2011, 01:27
@ atma: I didn't say ioi is the final word, I consider a credible source, and surely knows more on the topic than either of us. Also, I didn't say it was undertracked indefinitely, I said it could be, as past GT titles have been undertracked before and the explanation was because it's a harder IP to track.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 17/12/2011, 01:13
@CGI Ok so because ioi said (probably a year ago, without all the data and new info since then) it will reach 10 million, then we must just assume the game will indeed reach 10 million? Come on, that's ridiculous and you know it. Talking about data to back up your point, you did not bring any for claiming the game is undertracked. Even with my scenario of GT5 selling a couple of 100k/week during the holidays and reaching 7.5M on year's end, I did not see GT5 reaching 10M. With these sales it's now becoming impossible, unless Sony decide to bundle every PS3 with GT5 in the future...
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 17/12/2011, 03:04
@ Atma: Wishful thinking is something based mainly on a hope with little data to back it up. Right now, the numbers are very much in GT5's favor to clear 10 million. But I, and many others (including ioi) have said this enough that the point has been made.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 17/12/2011, 02:15
@CGI Why would the game be undertracked? A game like GT5 could very well have several hundred thounsand copies sitting on shelves at the moment. At this point it sounds like wishful thinking to me, just as the 10 million.
Message | Report
Heavenly_King posted 17/12/2011, 01:50
GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GT!!!
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 17/12/2011, 01:08
So shipped 7.3 million as of September. We could be undertracking it just a tad, but the game is very much on track to clear 10 million, being vastly ahead of GT4 in aligned frames.
Message | Report
Alby_da_Wolf posted 17/12/2011, 12:15
PD numbers are shipped, but the last published a few hours ago are as of September 2011, so an adjustment up on VGC isn't unlikely.
Message | Report
enrageorange posted 16/12/2011, 11:56
PD numbers are and have always been shipped... Hence why so far this year it only shipped 600k, but obviously sold a lot more.
Message | Report
Bristow9091 posted 16/12/2011, 11:43
I thought PD actually give sold and not shipped? Isn't that what it's like on their website? I can't actually remember, just what I heard/thought
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/12/2011, 10:55
@VGKing, PD numbers are shipped. Anyway it seems PD has finally updated their numbers and it fits with VGC, might even be a bit overtracked here...*run for his life*
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/12/2011, 10:55
@VGKing, PD numbers are shipped. Anyway it seems PD has finally updated their numbers and it fits with VGC, might even be a bit overtracked here...*run for his life*
Message | Report
VGKing posted 16/12/2011, 10:30
PD says 7.3m sold.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/12/2011, 10:24
@thehusbo: Until Mario Kart 7 surpass it :)
Message | Report
atma998 posted 16/12/2011, 10:21
No, even with the bundles the game is still not in the Europe top 40.
Message | Report
shanbcn posted 16/12/2011, 10:07
It should ship close to 9m by end of 2012.
Message | Report
pezus posted 16/12/2011, 07:19
epic
Message | Report
VXIII posted 16/12/2011, 04:56
7,3M shiped as of Sep 2011, nice ^^
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 16/12/2011, 04:38
70,472 this week... more three weeks... hummmm... 7.2 million by the end of the year..
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 16/12/2011, 04:11
How close it will get to 7,5M with 3 weeks of sale??? My prediction was between 7~7,5M
Message | Report
thehusbo posted 16/12/2011, 03:10
Has now passed Mario kart double dash and is now the 9th best racing game of all time :) 7 mill next week!
Message | Report
The_Joker_Product posted 16/12/2011, 10:02
7 mil next week probably.
Message | Report
Jansky8 posted 16/12/2011, 09:11
Great game, love it :) Ethomaz, just out of curiosity, how was Gran Turismo 4 doing at that time in its lifecycle?
Message | Report
EmpireNO posted 14/12/2011, 05:48
I love GT5. Been playing it since release and I still play it almost on a daily basis. Awesomeness.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 14/12/2011, 03:45
My prediction can be found easily on this page...
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 14/12/2011, 01:28
The fact: GT5 is tracking better than GT4.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 14/12/2011, 01:28
Prediction is just a prediction @atma998... anyway how much is your prediction for GT5???
Message | Report
atma998 posted 13/12/2011, 10:14
And I suppose you had a good reason to explain the huge discrepancy between your 1st week prediction and what it sold?
Message | Report
atma998 posted 13/12/2011, 10:09
@Ethomaz You made this prediction 2-3 weeks before the game's launch: http://gamrconnect.vgchartz.com/post.php?id=3760776 and you never spoke about heavy bundling...
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/12/2011, 04:22
For 31th December 2011... in January I guess.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/12/2011, 04:22
For 31th December 2011... in January I guess.
Message | Report
Mordred11 posted 13/12/2011, 02:31
when are PD's numbers coming out?
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/12/2011, 02:05
GT5 15k just in UK.. .seems like over 50k this week (TOP40 baby).
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/12/2011, 01:34
Heavy bundled like Forza 3 or GT3 it can do that (15m)... if not it will be the second best selling GT ever (over GT4).
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 13/12/2011, 01:34
This week numbers... not last week.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 12/12/2011, 10:27
@ethomazNo, not in the Europe top 40 this week, #40 is Wii Fit Plus and it sold 46k for that territory alone, sorry. And you did not answer my question about your 15M LTD prediction lol.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 12/12/2011, 03:27
@atma998 due the bundle it appeared in TOP40 Europe this week... just if you not know GT5 is tracking ahead GT4 even after Holidays... EPIC.
Message | Report
Tridrakious posted 11/12/2011, 11:19
Sony's best performing title of the PS3 generation and continues to go up the chart. I will say though I'm getting less and less optimistic on GT5 hitting 10 million though.
Message | Report
Sarah90 posted 11/12/2011, 07:07
def. my favorite racing game. i love it!!!! :)
Message | Report
Alby_da_Wolf posted 10/12/2011, 07:10
Yes, if it gets near 10M, Sony will bundle it and push the sales of budget editions enough to reach it. But if it sells more and it gets near GT4, GT4 and GT1 are so close that Sony will bundle it ad push all its other sales enough to outsell both.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 10/12/2011, 04:40
@ dsage01: Indeed.
Message | Report
dsage01 posted 10/12/2011, 03:12
Should get to 10 million LT at this rate.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 09/12/2011, 10:22
@Ethomaz Last week it sold 30k and this week 40k...wow what incredible numbers!! I wonder how many 40k weeks the game will need to reach your 15 million LTD prediction? Even bundled, the game is not in the top 40 nor in the Europe top 40 anymore unlike some other older games. Sorry for having bursted your bubble again. On a more positive note, the game is on its way to reach 7 million before year's end! Still a good milestone for any game...
Message | Report
DEF posted 09/12/2011, 10:18
7 million by the end of the year.)
Message | Report
osamanobama posted 09/12/2011, 09:01
please PD update the numbers.
Message | Report
Train wreck posted 09/12/2011, 08:41
If you include the prologue this game is well over 11 million.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 09/12/2011, 12:08
41,020 this week... I don't get the "still selling less than 30k/week" LOL
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 09/12/2011, 11:30
@The_Joker_Product and what does that matter?
Message | Report
The_Joker_Product posted 09/12/2011, 10:38
MW3 passed it in only 1 month to.
Message | Report
VXIII posted 08/12/2011, 04:01
Eh .... the ever lasting argument :p
Message | Report
atma998 posted 08/12/2011, 01:50
@CGI GT5 is currently bundled in some european countries just to let you know.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 08/12/2011, 01:37
@ ethomaz: Indeed, although by now, I believe GT4 was bundled a bit. So it may start to pick up on GT5 soon, but this is also under the assumption that GT5 never sees another bundle.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 08/12/2011, 01:20
GT4 sold less near 30k in holidays too... GT5 is tracking better than GT4 after adjustments.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 08/12/2011, 12:55
@ atma: No we can't assume anything, other than there's nothing suggesting it can't reach 10 million at this juncture. Reason: it's ahead of it's predecessor. Nothing else to say, unless it drops below 5k-10k a week, which nothing can suggest right now.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 07/12/2011, 10:07
@CGI You will have to define what exactly ''stops selling'' means. Is 5k or 10k/week for the upcoming years can be considered as ''stops selling''? 10M cannot be reached magically. And by the way it's performing now, we can easily assume the game will die way sooner than 10M. I won't repeat what I already said about GT4 frame time comparison for obvious reasons.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 07/12/2011, 07:02
@ atma: 10 million will only be impossible to reach if it stops selling sometime soon. Since that's not going to happen, and it's still well ahead of GT4 (a 10 million seller), I don't see much weight to the math argument . It doesn't matter when it hits 10 million, but nothing suggests that it can't/won't. Again, the circle will continue until time has passed.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 07/12/2011, 03:51
Again do the maths, if it doesnt sell substantial numbers during the holidays and it sells 10-15k/week during the rest of the year, 10 million is impossible to reach!
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 07/12/2011, 01:53
@ ethomaz: And that doesn't include the adjustment. It doesn't have to sell 100k a week to hit the projected 10 million. In fact, GT4 didn't sell more than 80k beyond it's first holiday, and it sits close to 11 million today. Either way, I'm curious to see when/what Polyphony's next update will be.
Message | Report
ethomaz posted 07/12/2011, 12:14
@atma998... less? It's more than 30k per week now.
Message | Report
atma998 posted 06/12/2011, 10:26
Still selling less than 30k/week? Seems like GT5 sales won't explode during the holiday period as some people predicted here...It will surely rise up a bit in the upcoming weeks but I don't see this game selling 100k+/week anymore.
Message | Report
LupinIII posted 06/12/2011, 04:18
Possibly though its sales still wont be as impressive as Black Ops.
Message | Report
kivi95 posted 05/12/2011, 10:01
I think thid msy have a change to be the best selling ps3 game ever!!!(In Europe)
Message | Report
John_Doe posted 05/12/2011, 05:30
Where the hell is the chart????
Message | Report
DonFerrari posted 05/12/2011, 05:13
Just 140k more to take down position 9
Message | Report
 1   2   3   4   5   6   16 

Shipping Total

11,950,000 Units
As of: September 30th, 2017

Opinion (1575)

atma998 posted 02/04/2021, 03:29
10 years later, I'm coming here and yup, I was right when I was saying the franchise was on a downward trend.

GT6 did 5.22M and GTS did an awful 3.77M.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 03/07/2016, 09:03
PD Updated their site. 11.95m now.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 27/12/2015, 07:51
http://www.polyphony.co.jp/products/

Official numbers for the entire series. GT5 is the second best selling game in the franchise!
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 21/12/2015, 04:47
http://gamrconnect.vgchartz.com/thread.php?id=81982&page=1

It also puts that thread in a massive change of perspective! :D
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 20/12/2015, 05:56
Interesting thing to note - when you break down the regions, in the US, GT5 sold 3.44m, while GT4 sold 3.47m. This is significant, because many thought that the brand was falling off there. The highest selling GT, that wasn't a pack-in title in the US (like GT3), sold 3.99m, which was the original game. This means that the drop off has not been anywhere near as big as claimed and it also means that GT is still the highest selling console driving simulator in the region.

GT7 could sell a little closer to that 3.99m, given the PS4's sales history for other, high profile, 1st party titles.
Message | Report
CGI-Quality posted 17/12/2015, 09:33
I never dreamed of it doing 12 million. That's just bananas! What it tells me is, GT6 was a bit of a fluke. That it released at the worst possible time (still nearing 5 million, but you get the idea).

GT7 should suffer no such fate. And GT Sport should do a good 8-10 million (a little less than the series' trademark 10-11 million, since it isn't a numbered release).
Message | Report
View all